What Are The Three Branches Of Government

706 Words 3 Pages
The United States government is comprised of three main branches of government; the executive, legislative and judicial branch. Every branch has a specific function that contributes to the system in its entirety. The executive branch is headed by the President of the United States and implements and enforces laws which are created by the legislative branch. The judicial branch interprets laws and determines their constitutionality. The legislative branch creates laws, a power granted through the Constitution. Essentially, each branch needs the others to operate and carry out functions. Government is under constant scrutiny for the way that it operates whether in times of affluence or dejection. The executive branch is very powerful, so powerful …show more content…
It consists of Congress (the House of Representatives and the Senate) and state legislatures. Laws are created at both the federal and state levels, in the same instance states are required to abide by federal laws. Legislative officials are elected into their respective positions. Representatives are elected by constituents from their districts, must be 25 years old and a U.S. citizen for seven years and serve a two year term. States are given a specific number of members in the House based on their population. There are 100 U.S. Senators, two for every state. Under the 17th amendment, Senators are appointed by popular vote from their states. Senators must be at least 30 years old, a citizen of the United States for nine years be a resident of the state that they wish to represent. The Vice President, who is chosen by the President, heads the Senate. State legislators are elected similarly; every district holds elections to determine who will hold such positions. Just as the executive branch is granted specific powers, the legislative branch has powers: ability to override Presidential vetoes, impeachment, confirms appointments by the President and votes on

Related Documents