The Constitution Of The United States Essay

1238 Words 5 Pages
The Constitution of the United States of America established three branches of the federal government. These branches are the Legislative, Executive, and Judicial branches. Each branch has their own set of powers and responsibilities. While the federal government is the supreme authority, the Constitution also grants power and responsibilities to the states and local governments. These rights are granted under the Tenth Amendment of the Constitution. This paper will compare federal, state and local governments in relation to structure, responsibilities, and reform efforts.
Federal Government
The federal government is made up of the executive, legislative, and judicial branches. The executive branch is headed by the president of the United States. Other key members of the executive branch include the vice president, the president’s cabinet and independent federal agencies. Of the three branches “the executive branch has the most complex structure, the other two branches are also of interest from the machinery of government point of view.” (Shafritz, 2013, p. 81). The Executive Branch also includes members of the various armed forces and employs over 4 million people (The Executive Branch, 2016). The legislative branch consists of the House of Representatives and the Senate. Together, they are known as the United States Congress. The judicial branch includes the Supreme Court of the United States, the U.S. Courts of Appeals, the U.S. District Court’s, and many…

Related Documents