Three Branches Of Government

The Three Branches of Government
In the United States, our democratic system of government consists of three branches: the Judicial branch, Legislative branch, and the Executive branch. Each branch is responsible for a specific section of government and are meant to work for the betterment and protection of the citizens they represent. The Judicial branch is responsible for ruling if cases are constitutional or unconstitutional and is the head of the U.S. justice system. States are represented through the Legislative branch, which is divided between the House of Representative and Congress. These representatives are charged with the job of creating laws and bills, all of which are proposed, adjusted, and passed or failed by popular vote of
…show more content…
Theses roles include: the Speaker of the House, the Senate President Pro Templore, majority and minority leaders, and party whips. Each role and person is vital to the functionality of the Legislative hierarchy. The Speaker of the House leads the house and is also the majority leader of the House. This speaker is the second in line for Presidency, immediately after the Vice President. The Speaker is selected by his/her peers during the first session of the New Congress by majority vote. This Speaker is able to assign some of their duties to who is known as the Speaker Pro Templore, to help keep order during their session. Majority and minority leaders …show more content…
Powers expressed by only the President himself include executive orders, pardons, and the annual State of the Union Address, a speech in which the elected head of the country announces what problems the government has decided to focus on during the course of the year. The Head of State can lose these powers and responsibilities under circumstance of loss of life, impeachment, or resignation. Of which, under the 25th Amendment, the powers and responsibilities will be passed on to the President 's successor, the Vice-President. The 25th Amendment also remedied the problem of replacing the Vice-President under similar circumstances in the occasion of losing that office. iv
The final branch of government is the Judicial branch. Made up of a Supreme court and many small federal courts, this branch is given the duty of determining the constitutional standing of laws and the meanings of the law. Despite the involvement of Congress with the assignment of jurisdiction to federal courts, the Supreme Court possesses 'original jurisdiction ' by terms of the Constitution. As the determining voice of law, this branch of government makes sure of assuring the public that the Legislative and Executive branches actions are aligned with the

Related Documents