Religions: Buddhism, Christianity, Islam, Judaism, Hinduism
What is Buddhism?
- Is a religion based on insight and inner peace [https://thebuddhistcentre.com/Buddhism]
- ‘Buddhism’ comes from the word ‘budhi’ which means ‘to awaken’. [http://www.buddhanet.net/e-learning/5minbud.htm]
- The religion was originated from Siddhartha Gotama, who is known as Buddha [http://www.buddhanet.net/e-learning/5minbud.htm]
- Buddhism does not concern itself with any God or deity, therefore to most it is not considered a religion rather a way of life or philosophy. [https://thebuddhistcentre.com/Buddhism] [http://www.buddhanet.net/e-learning/5minbud.htm]
Introduction to Judaism Gender
Food
Kashrut, a part of Jewish law that dictates what foods …show more content…
Certain animals are completely forbidden to eat as well as their by-products and derivatives. Forbidden animals include:
a) All land mammals that do not have the following properties: the animal must have cloven hooves and chews its cud (i.e. cattle, sheep, bison, deer and goats);
b) From the water, any fish that does not have fins and scales (i.e. salmon, carp) such as shellfish;
c) Birds of prey or scavengers;
d) All insects;
e) …show more content…
All the blood must be drained or broiled out of the meat before consumption as blood is prohibited to consume. This does not apply to the blood of fish.
4. Animals that have died of natural causes or that have been killed by other animals are not permissible nor are animals that have diseases or flaws in the organs at the time of slaughter. This is only applied to birds and land mammals.
5. Certain parts such as the sciatic nerve and the blood vessels adjoined to it as well as the fat that surrounds the liver and vital organs (known as chelev) of permissible animals cannot be eaten.
6. Dairy foods are not permissible to eat with meat; fish, eggs, fruits and vegetables is permissible to eat with either. When dairy is consumed there should be a six hour waiting period before meat can be eaten and vice versa.
7. Utensils for dairy should not come into contact with meat and vice versa, if they do they become non-kosher. This is only applied during heat, hot spices or prolonged contact.
8. All fruits and vegetables are permissible.
9. Grape products can only be eaten if made by Jews.
Rich, T. (2011). Kashrut: Jewish Dietary Laws. Retrieved from