Erikson's Stages Of Development

1090 Words 5 Pages
We all go through different stages throughout life from birth to death. We will never stay at the same stage throughout our life. Erikson states there are eight stages we go throughout life. These stages have an impact on our personality as it can brings out a positive or negative change in our personality. Society and culture also plays a role in our psychological development. These stages are trust vs mistrust, autonomy vs shame and doubt, initiative vs guilt, industry vs inferiority, identity vs role confusion, intimacy vs isolation, generativity vs stagnation and integrity vs despair.
Trust vs Mistrust
This is the first stage of development for a child. This is between the birth of a child to one years. This is where the child learn trust
…show more content…
This age group is from six to twelve. Social skills continue to increase, self confidence and self-esteem. At this age its highly recommended that children are commended for achievements and encourage to move in their direction that sparks their interest. Children who are not commended for their efforts feels inferior to others as they grow older. Children are exposed to more people in their surroundings at this stage. Parents and caregivers should not allow children to develop a low self-esteem at this stage as it can be detrimental to their life as they get older.
Identity vs role confusion
This stage is from thirteen to nineteen when a child is trying to discover who he/she really is. He/she try to fit in with their peers, experiment with dressing, and explore new interests. Social interactions is also increased at this stage. Teenagers try to find out their purpose in life and establish goals for themselves. They can now identify themselves as an individual away from their parents. Teenagers who struggle to find an identity during this stage normally has a confusing adult life as they are not sure where they fit in.
Intimacy vs
…show more content…
This is from sixty five onwards. This is a period of reflection over one’s life of the accomplishments, the journey, the purpose of ones life whether it was fulfilled or not. If their life was not rewarding they can fall into despair. At this stage if his/her life was fulfilling him/her can face death gracefully while if his/her life was not fulfilling he or she will fear death.
Erikson eight development stages was either positive or negative. If a child is guided on the positive path, that child will have a fulfilling life. A operson can shift from negative to positive at any stage and still have a fuklfilling life if they are guided on the right path. At every stage a person still needs encouragement to go through each stage

Related Documents