Analysis: From Novice To Expert

784 Words 4 Pages
Week One Assignments
Courtney Redburn
Azusa Pacific University

Week One Assignments
Reflective Questions
As an LVN, returning to a Bachelor of Nursing program, I am confident in my skills as a nurse but am also aware that I have room to grow. Therefore, I believe I fall in Stage 3 of Benner’s From Novice to Expert. Stage 3 explains that competent nurses typically have over 2 years of experience and present enhanced efficiency, organization, and time management (Duphily, 2014, pg. 24).
My name is Courtney Redburn. I have been an LVN for two years. I am currently not practicing as an LVN. However, I have had one year of experience in acute care and one-year experience in School Nursing.
Nursing is a part of healthcare that focuses on
…show more content…
There must be a person in an environment in which the nurse and patient are interacting about one’s health. My vision of nursing in the future consists of healthcare professionals being well respected, more compassionate, knowledgeable, and most importantly cautious. As a nurse, I will face many challenges. I will experience skills I have never performed, learn about time management and delegation, as well as grieve over patients. My goals for professional development are to learn how to switch roles from a vocational nurse to a registered nurse. In addition, I hope to learn to be more competent and overall knowledgeable to better educate my patients on their disease …show more content…
Families of different cultures can be very particular about the care they receive. It is important to keep an open mind and respect their beliefs. Also, it is very important to make sure that both the patient and family are educated and given resources. The nurse should not use medical terminology to ensure that the patient will understand what he/she is talking about. Lastly, it is important to allow both the patient and family to spend time alone. Spending time in a hospital can be overwhelming, and it is our jobs as nurses to make sure they have their privacy.
The magnet model is enforced by the Magnet Recognition Program that was developed by the ANCC. It recognizes healthcare organizations for providing nursing excellence. The model consists of five categories, transformational leadership, structural empowerment, new knowledge, innovations, exemplary professional practice, and empirical outcomes. The NDNQI measures non-sensitive outcomes to improve overall safety and aspect of care (UCDMC, 2017, para.

Related Documents