Analysis Of Erikson's Stages Of Development

1755 Words 8 Pages
Observation Competency
The observation that was conducted was on a two year old Hispanic male. His skin color is white; his eyes are hazel and he has light brown hair. The child is 31 inches in height and is approximately 27 pounds. His mobility to walk and run are fine, but when attempting to do something too fast, movements get rigid. He can use nouns such as bye, yes, more, or no. The parents are both in young adulthood and have rewarding careers. Mother is a nurse and the father is a firefighter for the City of Miami. Both parents were born in Cuba and came at a young age. The child was born in the United Sates.
The child does not attend a daycare facility of any kind. While the parents are attending to their occupations, he stays with
…show more content…
Erik Erikson is known as the father of human development (Mandich, 2016). Erikson theory has eight stages of personality development. He looks at all the stages as a struggle between positive and negative emotional states (Florida Health, 2012). The child already has mastered stage one which is trust, which he shows he has trust with the individuals in his household. Autonomy is stage number two which is extremely important for a child of his age. The child showed autonomy while he selected what toy he wanted to play with and unhooking the clip of the cube. John Bowlby and Mary Ainsworth established a theory that states family experience is related to the emotional well being of an individual (Mandich, 2016). Both also state that the relationship between mother and child is necessary to develop normal emotional attachments (Mandich, 2016). The child shows secure attachment, which is one of the three types of attachment both theorists developed. He shows this when he raced to the wall to peek out to look at her, and both …show more content…
Jean Piaget’s theory of cognitive contributes to the understanding of how human begins come to know what they know (Mandich, 2016). Piaget’s theories of cognitive development are divided into four different stages. First stage is sensorimotor, second stage is preoperational, and finally there is concrete and formal operations. The child would fall under the sensorimotor stage because it focuses on children from zero to two years of age and involves forming knowledge through senses. (Mandich, 2016). The child first had to look at how the mother was putting the shapes into the correct outline and then was able to do it him self. He used sight and touch, which are two of the five senses. Lev Vygotsky created the zone of proximal development (ZPD) (Mandich, 2016). The four stages imply that the individual will need assistant by others and then by him, the skill goes to automatic habit formation, and finally the skill becomes acquired. The child observed demonstrates this when the mother first explained to him and showed how the shapes went into the outline of the cube. After that, the child was able to repeat the task with little cueing and lastly was able to do it on his own with no help. Vygotsky also created the term private speech, and

Related Documents