Cognitive Development And Child Development

1034 Words 5 Pages
Child Development
Children develop differently from one another. It is all based on how the parent raises their child. If a parent abuses their child they would have disorders when they grow up. Every child goes through stages in their life of cognitive development also, language development. Children also go through emotional and moral development, which could go wrong if a parent treats their child with no emotional love. Children that have no attachment with their parents tend to have an attachment disorder which can affect the child a lot. In this paper I will describe what happens through fetal, new born development and maturation, language and cognitive development, and emotional and moral development.
When a child goes through new born
…show more content…
The acquisition of language propels the child into farther intellectual development. Telegraphic speech is the kind of verbal utterances in which words are left out, but the meaning is usually clear. Children start to imitate speech from their parents. At age one, children begin to babble and the babbling increases. At age two, infants will progress saying dozens of words. At three years of age, child acquires more grammical knowledge, this also happens at age four, but they use future tense. Age five, the child uses more complex clauses. Children also go through cognitive development which is the construction of thought processes, such as thinking, recalling, and analyzing. Piaget’s stages go through cognitive development. The first step is, sensorimotor which starts at birth until age two. At this stage they lack concept of object permanence. The second stage, preoperational, which starts at age three until seven, they start to lack of operation. The third stage, concrete operations, which starts at age seven until eleven, they start to understand the concept of the conversation. The last stage, formal operations, which starts at ages after eleven, they are capable of logical and deductive reasoning. This is what happens through language and cognitive …show more content…
An example would be, a child deciding to drink at a party or not. In moral development, the stages don’t have an age limit because, every person/child is different, it just depends what they go through as a child. During stage one, children are totally egocentric, meaning everything is about them and they only care about themselves. Stage two; they have a better idea of how to receive rewards as well as how to avoid punishment. They develop the golden rule which is, “if he helps you, you help him, if he hurts you, you hurt him”. Stage three; children become acutely sensitive to what other people think. Children want social approval. Stage four; children become less concerned with the approval. The key issue here is law and order. Stage five; person is primarily concerned with weather a law is fair or just. Finally at stage six; it involves acceptance of ethical principles that apply to everyone, like the golden rule. Emotional development is the emergence of a child’s experience, expression, understanding, and regulation of emotions from birth through late adolescences. It also compromises how growth and changes in these processes concerning emotion occur. Every child has different child development, because of how the parents raise their baby. If the baby is attached to their mother, father, or caregiver they would have a conscience and would know from right or wrong and how other people feel in

Related Documents