Boston Orchestra Piano Concert Analysis

2726 Words 11 Pages
The Boston Symphony Orchestra performs Piano Concerto No. 1 in B-flat Minor, Op. 23 by Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky with Seiji Ozawa conducting and Egveny Kissin as the piano soloist. The instruments called for in this piece of music are two flutes, two oboes, two clarinets in B-flat, two bassoons, four horns in F, two trumpets in F, three trombones (two tenor, one bass), timpani, solo piano, and strings.
1:04—2:00 French horns are forte for three notes, then what sounds like trombones join in along with the rest of the orchestra and the soloist Kissin on the piano. For the first measure the tempo is dramatic in tone, with the French horns following behind with the trombones. A few measures later the tempo slows to a mellow
…show more content…
The slow tempo suggests a calm atmosphere. 0:30—the orchestra joins the flute creating a masterpiece of spring time. 1:57—the tempo and volume, turn into a call and answer style. The tempo goes one, two the repeats a forte up from the previous time. Nearing the 2:15—mark the music travels toward piano levels with each time through. During the whole time I heard birds chirping in a meadow. 2:41—the tempo increases to a lively faster speed. 2:50—the speed slows back to the starting speed of the main theme. 3:18—I felt refreshed after finishing something special. You could still hear the main theme yet a fresh change had happened like the theme was washed by a spring …show more content…
5:30—peaceful spring morning after the ball. The music has softened the volume closer to piano level. The flute swaps with the clarinet playing the lead of the main theme finishing the transition into section B. 6:01—the spring showers have parted and the flowers are blooming all across the meadow. The tempo feels like a refreshing breeze through the trees. 6:20—the tempo picks up like something is coming. I feel the anticipation in the crowd of bunnies. 7:28—the flute plays the main theme as if the king of the bunnies is about to share news with everyone at the ball.
Section C transitioning into Section A
Section C—7:50 and, Section A—8:40
7:50—section C begins with an increase in the tempo for a couple of beats before slowing down again. During section C the oboe plays a quick pace solo on the main theme. Every bunny in the meadow is celebrating the king’s news, the birth of princes and princesses. 8:49— an instrument sounding like cymbals play with the flute the main theme while the others are playing a slightly different style of the main theme. 9:20—the tempo stays a steady beat for several measures before the whole orchestra plays the same tune.
9:52—the strings are leading the main tune. The tempo decreases for several measures. 9:59—the clarinet does a small solo bring the happiness of spring to the forefront of the music. 10:00—11:01—I heard a harp being plucked not strummed. The orchestra joins the clarinet putting

Related Documents