Study your flashcards anywhere!

Download the official Cram app for free >

  • Shuffle
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Alphabetize
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Front First
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Both Sides
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Read
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off

How to study your flashcards.

Right/Left arrow keys: Navigate between flashcards.right arrow keyleft arrow key

Up/Down arrow keys: Flip the card between the front and back.down keyup key

H key: Show hint (3rd side).h key

A key: Read text to speech.a key


Play button


Play button




Click to flip

16 Cards in this Set

  • Front
  • Back
Who is the Dalai Lama?
The spiritual and political leader of Tibet
Which division of Buddhism is most close to Buddha's original teachings?
Which division of Buddhism is the religion of Tibet?
Which division of Buddhism is the largest?
What is a sangha?
A Buddhist community of monks, nuns and lay people
What are mandalas?
Images used to help mediatation
What are the stages of the Eightfold Path?
-Right views
-Right intentions
-Right speech
-Right conduct
-Right livelihood
-Right effort
-Right mindfullness
-Right meditation
What is nirvana?
State of eternal bliss (salvation)
The Buddha's real name is..?
Siddhartha Gautama
What is "The Middle Way"?
Central Buddhist doctrine which states that one must have a healthy physical and spiritual life (in the middle between indulgence and asceticism)
The Three Marks of Existance include..
1) No self (anatta)
2) Impermanence (anicca)
3) Suffering (dukkha)
What is dharma in the Buddhist point of view?
the teachings of Buddha
What are the Five Precepts?
A moral code for Buddhists.
1)Do not take life.
2)Do not take what is not given.
3)Do not engage in serious misconduct.
4)Do not use false speech.
5)Do not drink intoxicants.
What is samsura?
What are the Four Noble Truths?
1)To live is to suffer.
2)Suffering is caused by desire.
3)Suffering can be brought to cessation.
4) The solution to suffering is the Noble Eightfold Path.
What is a "arhat"?
Someone who has become enlightened