Piaget 's Stages Of Cognitive Development Essay

921 Words Nov 15th, 2016 4 Pages
Piaget, Sensorimotor stage, Object Permanence.
The Sensorimotor Stage
Jean Piaget was a clinical psychologist from Switzerland. He is best known for being the pioneer who developed the stages of cognitive development. The fields in which he worked were Developmental Psychology as well as Epistemology. Piaget was born on August 9, 1896 and died on September 16, 1980. He was 84 years old when he died.
Piaget’s Stages of Cognitive Development
According to the book Psychology in Everyday Life Third Edition, a book used in many psychology classes, Piaget established four stages of cognitive development. The first stage, the sensorimotor stage last from birth to nearly 2 years of age. The second stage, the preoperational stage last from about 2 years of age to 6 or 7 years of age. The third stage, the concrete operational stage last from ages 6 or 7 to age 11. The final stage is called the formal operational stage, it last from age 12 through adulthood. Piaget established these stages of cognitive development by observing his three children.
A Few Words from the Wise
Piaget, the founder of the four stages of cognitive development, once said” It is with children that we have the best chance of studying the development of logical knowledge, mathematical knowledge, physical knowledge, and so forth. “In this quote I believe that Piaget is saying that watching how children grow and comprehend is the best way to learn about how we humans develop. I also believe this is why he…

Related Documents