The Four Stages Of Piaget's Theory Of Cognitive Development

650 Words 3 Pages
Register to read the introduction… * Adaptation: the process that builds and adapts our schemes through interaction with environment. * Assimilation: a process that takes in substances and stimulations or incorporates/ fits new information into pre-existing schema (Read, 1997). * Accommodation: this happens when the existing schema does not work and changes are needed to adapt better to the assimilated reality (Read, 1997).

The four stages of Piaget’s theory of cognitive development: 1. The sensorimotor stage (0-2 years): Develop the ability to make sense of the world by using their senses ad motor abilities. 2. Preoperational stage (2-7 years): begin to develop motor skills but still lacks of understanding of conservation of physical properties. Wellman and Gelman (1992) claim that young children by age 3 or 4, they see people as processing beliefs, desires, thoughts and images as well as emotional reactions. 3. Concrete operational stage (7-11 years): child able to think logically 4. Formal operational stage (11 years - ): able to manage higher order reasoning.
…show more content…
Support and Criticism of Piaget’s Stage Theory.
Edday, S. (2010). Theories of cognitive development: Jean Piaget.
Piaget J. 1985. The Equilibration of Cognitive Structure. Chicago: Univ. Chicago Press
Read, D.T. (1997). Jean Piaget and The World Of The Child. The evolution of psychology: Fifty years of the America Psychologist. (Ed.) (pp. 355-372). Us: American Psychological Association. (useful)
Vidal, T. (2000). Jean Piaget. In Encyclopedia of psychology. (pp. 193-196). Washington. US: American Psychological Association.
Wellman, H.M. and Gelman, S.G. (1992). Cognitive Development: Foundational Theories of Core Domains.

Related Documents