Hawaii Is Not Part Of The North American Continent Essay

1368 Words Nov 21st, 2015 6 Pages
Surrounded by the Pacific Ocean about 2,400 miles southwest of the Continental United States, Hawaii is the state that is not part of the North American continent. Composed of many islands, cover about 6,459 square miles, Hawaii is ranked as the 47th largest of the 50 states of America. It’s also known as one of the most famous tourist place of the U.S. There are total of eight main islands: Hawaii, Maui, Kahoolawe, Molokai, Lanai, Oahu, Kauai, and Niihau.
Covered by the total area of 4,038 square miles, Hawaii is the largest habitable main island. It is formed by five volcanoes and two of which are still active today. Hualalai is on the west side of the island. Kohala is on the northern. Mauna Loa and Mauna Kea are toward the center of the island while Kilauea is the on east side of Mauna Loa. Mauna Loa and Kilauea are the two active volcanoes. Sometimes they awake and release hot lava streams flowing down the mountains to the sea.
Similar to Hawaii, Maui is formed by volcanoes. However Maui is smaller because they are formed by only two volcanoes which are called the Valley Island because there are many canons cut into the two mountains. Isthmus passed between the mountains creating a perfect fertilizable area for sugar cane growth. The highest point in Maui is the volcano Haleakala which is still considered to be active and expected to erupt in the next 200 years. Next to Maui is the island Kahoolawe. This island is dry and windswept and known as uninhabited island.…

Related Documents