Erik Erikson 's Developmental Stages Essays

918 Words Oct 2nd, 2015 4 Pages
Erik Erikson was under the tutelage of Sigmund Freud. He is identified as one of the psychoanalytic theorist who proposed the eight developmental stages spanning the entire life span of an individual. Each stage had to be resolved in order for the person to not have any life crisis later on in life.
Trust vs. Mistrust (Birth to 1 year)
Autonomy vs. Shame and doubt (1-3 years)
Initiative vs. Guilt (preschool, 3-6 years)
Industry vs. Inferiority (latency, 6-12 year)
Identity vs. Role confusion (Adolescence, 13-19)
Intimacy vs. Isolation (young adulthood 19-35 years)
Generativity vs. Stagnation (Middle adulthood, 25-64 years)
Integrity vs. Despair (late adulthood, 65-death)
These stages characterized by Erikson were ideas arisen from Freudian theory but are more comprehensive. Infants fall into the beginning stage of Trust vs. Mistrust. This is a crucial stage since it will provide the foundation of the psychosocial tasks (terry and susan). Infants learn to trust that others will take of their basic needs, to include feeding, cleanliness, warmth and physical contact. If this is not accomplished mistrust will be developed and in turn cause a withdrawal and a lack of confidence. Autonomy versus shame and doubt is the second stage and it expands from the ages 1 to 3. At this stage the child begins to explore and shows independence. Children learn to do many activities on their own, feeding, walking, talking, potty training. If these tasks are not developed and no…

Related Documents