Comparison Of John Adams, Roger Sherman, Robert Livingston, And Thomas Jefferson

649 Words 3 Pages
The members of the Committee of Five were John Adams, Roger Sherman, Benjamin Franklin, Robert Livingston, and Thomas Jefferson.
John Adams was a lawyer, statesman, writer, diplomat, and second president of the United States. He was an advocator of republicanism and a strong central government.
Roger Sherman was born in 1721 is Massachusetts. He studied law and became a judge. He proposed the Great Compromise, which needed a two part legislature, one of which was represented based off of population. Benjamin Franklin is known for electricity, politics, and his role in the science of electricity. His newspaper, The Pennsylvania Gazette was purchased by him in 1729, and he is responsible for authoring and publishing the first political cartoon. He is credited for the invention of the Franklin Stove and the discovery of lightning being electricity. He proposed a plan for the uniting of the colonies in 1754. Robert Livingston was born in New York City in 1746. He was a lawyer before he went to be a politician. In 1777, he helped New York make its own state constitution. He later became the state’s chancellor and remained in that position for twenty four years. From 1781 to 1783, he was the secretary of foreign affairs under the Articles of Confederation. He was a
…show more content…
The final Declaration of Independence doesn’t have this paragraph. The paragraph itself was contradictory. It blamed King George for bringing in slaves and making it acceptable in the Americas, but then also condemned king george for giving the slaves who revolted their freedom. Decades later, Jefferson directed the blame for the removal of the passage to the delegates from South Carolina and Georgia and Northern delegates that represented the merchants who were, at the time, seriously participating in the Trans-Atlantic slave

Related Documents