Psychosocial Theories Of Erikson's Psychosocial Development Of Personality

1527 Words 7 Pages
3 Erik Erikson psychosocial development of personality
Erikson (1950) psychosocial development theory of personality states that personality development is a process that takes place across the lifespan of an individual. Erikson believed that every individual experiences a psychological crisis that results in a positive or negative outcome of personality. Erikson’s theories were influenced by Freud’s psychoanalytic theories. His theory focuses on the influence of external factors such as society and parenting on personality development from young age to adulthood. Erikson believes that personality develops as people pass through eight interrelated stages across the entire lifespan.

These stages of personality development create awareness
…show more content…
However, there are several differences that exist between the name of the stages and the developmental process that occur at each stage. This is due to each psychologist having a different view on factors that contribute to personality development. Freud’s psychoanalytical theory of personality emphasizes more on the role of the unconscious mind in determining personality, while Erikson believed that personality develops through the influence of conscious social factors. Nevertheless, both psychologist value the importance and influence of the unconscious mind on personality …show more content…
Freud called this stage latency and believes this is an intermediary stage where the child forms interaction with the environment. Erikson on the other hand refers to the stage as industry vs inferiority. He believed children begin to demonstrate their ability to succeed. The next stage of development marks from ages 12 to 18. According to Freud this stage is the last stage which continues throughout a person’s life. Freud called this stage the genital stage. He believed during this stage people seek to balance between their biological instinct and sense of morality. Whereas Erikson called the stage identity vs role confusion and this is a period where the focus of development shifts to social bonding in order to stablish meaning in a person’s life. While Freud believed the development stages end at this stage, Erikson continued to add other three stage; intimacy vs isolation, generativity vs stagnation and ego integrity vs

Related Documents