My Family Heritage Essay

Improved Essays
I am Irish for the most part, I am about 80% Irish and about 5% Belgian, 5% Polish, and 10% German. I have done some research on my family history before this assignment even came up and found out that most of my family heritage is from Cork Ireland. Cork Ireland is the third largest city in Ireland. Cork is in the south western part of Ireland. It has a population of about, 198,582 as of 2011.
Most of my family is all of Irish decent. My mother’s father has a little Polish in him, my mother’s mother has a little Belgium in her, my father’s father is 100% Irish, and my father’s mother has a little German in her. Those are where the different percentages come from in my family heritage. My father’s father was born in the United States,
…show more content…
My mother’s mother’s family was from another little suburb of Cork called Cobh also in the County of Cork. My mother’s father’s family moved to the United States in 1897, where they ended up in Michigan in 1904 after moving around looking for a place to settle down. The area they settled in was just outside of Carlton in what is now known as Sumpter Township. They also were farmers, they had a small farm in Sumpter and raised cows and chickens. My mother’s father was born in 1920, he was the second of 7 kids all born in the United States on the family farm. My mother’s father stayed on the farm till he was 19 years of age, he then joined the United States Navy in 1939 he stayed in the Navy for 6 years. After he got discharged from the Navy he moved to Louisiana for about two years then moved back to Michigan. My mother’s mother’s family moved to the United States in 1900 where they moved to what is now known as Huron Township. My mother’s mom was born in 1926 on the family farm, my mom’s mother was expected to stay on the farm and raise all her siblings which she had 15 brothers and sisters her being the oldest girl. She never moved away from the farm till she met my grandfather in 1946. They married in 1947 and moved to Wyandotte where my mother was born in 1948 at Wyandotte hospital. My mother was the first of …show more content…
I being a boy played all sports growing up to include football, hockey, soccer, and baseball. As I got older I moved away from all sports except hockey and still play today. Growing up in the family I did I was always encouraged and supported to do the things I wanted to do no matter what they were. My best experience that I can remember as a kid is when I made my first real hockey team I was so proud of myself and my parents were even more proud of me. When I grew up I wanted to be just like my dad hard working and dedicated to whatever he did. When I was 18 and graduated from High School I went to college for a year decided it was not for me so I went in the Army to see if that was something I might like, again trying to be like my father and his father. After being the Army I figured out it was definitely something I enjoyed very much. At the age of 20 I came home on leave and married my high school sweetheart. We moved to Germany and had one son then moved back to the United States and lived in Georgia where my daughter was born. We then proceeded to move around to a lot of different places throughout my Army career and had a few more kids six in total. After retiring from the Army in 2013 I returned back to Michigan where I originally started my journey in life.

Related Documents

  • Improved Essays

    Texas Family History

    • 1022 Words
    • 5 Pages

    My father was a hard worker who worked in a pole mill to take care of his eight kids. My father later got another job where he worked for 20 years as a plant supervisor until he retired. My father was born on April 1 1929 and died on June 2008. My paternal grandmother’s name was Cornelius and Andrew was my paternal grandfather’s name. My branch on the White Family tree started on December 29, 1953 on the day of my birth to my loving parents Daniel and Bessie White of Warren Texas.…

    • 1022 Words
    • 5 Pages
    Improved Essays
  • Improved Essays

    My Family Heritage

    • 1073 Words
    • 4 Pages

    My great grandfather, Aubrey Collum Jr. left the reservation and joined the military during World War II and set the precedence for many future solders in our family to include myself. After the war Aubrey settled down with my grandmother who was from West Virginia and they begin to plant roots in the east coast. The family continued to survive by raising crops and animals and was still considered a low class family. For years to come our family tribes would move between Oklahoma and West Virginia. For the first 7 years of my life I was raised in Oklahoma and remember always being surrounded by a big family.…

    • 1073 Words
    • 4 Pages
    Improved Essays
  • Improved Essays

    My father finally found a job in Florida. Being in florida, I began to feel a little down, from missing my mother and having a new step mother. We lived in Florida to 2015, when my dad decided to move back to Texas. I graduated from high school, before he decided to move. As we all were packing up getting ready to move, my dad decided to send me back to Alaska, to attend college.…

    • 774 Words
    • 4 Pages
    Improved Essays
  • Improved Essays

    I am Teyha Monique Graham and I am from George, Iowa I am currently nineteen years old. I was born in Madison, Wisconsin lived there for a couple year then my parents got divorced and we moved to George, Iowa. That is where my mother Wendy Woelber grew up. My mother got re-married in 2011 to my wonderful step-dad. My mother has three children who are Mia, Savanna, and I.…

    • 1078 Words
    • 4 Pages
    Improved Essays
  • Improved Essays

    Kathy Torrey

    • 936 Words
    • 4 Pages

    Kathy Torrey, a Caucasian female, was born January, 31st 1953 in New Bern, NC. Kathy was raised by her married biological parents, Etta Brown Smith and Nathan Smith, who made their living farming. Kathy fondly remembers how there was always family around, including her extended family. Kathy has seven siblings, some of which had moved out by the time Kathy was born. They lived in an apartment in the city right next to the river, but after her parents divorced when she was six years old they moved to the country.…

    • 936 Words
    • 4 Pages
    Improved Essays
  • Improved Essays

    Kendrah Rhiannon

    • 1204 Words
    • 5 Pages

    Safe to say, I grew up with plenty of aunts, uncles, and cousins around. My parents, Harold and Cynthia Lopez had been just 18 when I was born and three months later they were married. My dad was the youngest of seven, and because my parents were young and my grandparents were aging, we stayed and lived with my grandparents out on that farm for all of my childhood. My father was a railroad worker for Burlington Northern when I was younger, until he was laid off, after that he worked several jobs, whatever he could find here and there, until he passed away at age 37. My mother had mostly worked waitressing jobs, until she received a college…

    • 1204 Words
    • 5 Pages
    Improved Essays
  • Improved Essays

    This caused me to live in a shelter with my mother for 6 months. I was the only child that my mom raised of the three of us. I stayed with her throughout my eighteen years on Saint Croix and left in 2011 to attend college at The University of New Haven in Connecticut. I then moved to Texas in 2012 to be close to family. I now graduate with my bachelor’s degree in…

    • 1070 Words
    • 4 Pages
    Improved Essays
  • Improved Essays

    I hung out with my cousin Dustin a lot and my Aunt. I earned my own money to buy my own guitar. When I started my 9th grade year I was a lot done with the Farm School I just wanted something to do. I was put in the CCRC and that was not a good fit but I didn’t know of anywhere else to be, I just didn’t want to be there. On October 12th 2014 Dustin was killed in a hit and run.…

    • 1184 Words
    • 5 Pages
    Improved Essays
  • Improved Essays

    At nine, he received his first book from his mother. Even though she had not one penny in her pocket, booker’s hope for education moved her to get it for him. Also at nine when the civil war had finally ended, he and his stepfather moved them to Malden to work in the mines. At sixteen, after saving up money working with his stepfather, he moved to Hampton to go to school in 1872. He spent three years in school and graduated in 1875 and moved to Tuskegee to teach.…

    • 501 Words
    • 3 Pages
    Improved Essays
  • Improved Essays

    Self-Culture and Family Origin I was born in Merriam, KS. I lived there until it was time for me to go to preschool. Then we moved to Gardner, KS. My mom was born in Wichita, KS and grew up in Kansas, mostly in Olathe, Kansas. My dad was born in Des Moines, Iowa and moved around a lot in his childhood due to his father’s job as an oil driller.…

    • 1108 Words
    • 5 Pages
    Improved Essays

Related Topics