• Shuffle
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Alphabetize
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Front First
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Both Sides
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Read
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off

Card Range To Study



Play button


Play button




Click to flip

Use LEFT and RIGHT arrow keys to navigate between flashcards;

Use UP and DOWN arrow keys to flip the card;

H to show hint;

A reads text to speech;

8 Cards in this Set

  • Front
  • Back

What is the OSI Model Protocol?

The Open Systems Interconnection Model Protocol is made up of 7 different software and hardware layers. Each of the 7 layers add a bit of code to the data which is then stripped away in reverse order when it reaches the destination.

Application Layer

-First layer

-Allows applications to access network services

-Represents the layer at which the applications can access the network

-Provides services that directly support network applications

Presentation Layer

-Second layer

-Translated application data, via the transmitting side, into a format that can be sent over the network

-Translates the application data, via the receiving side, back into its original format

-Is the level at which the re director operates

-Manages security by providing functions including data encryption and compression

Session Layer

-Third layer

-Creates a session between two computers to let communication occur

-Determines how long workstations transmit and when transmission occurs

Transport Layer

- Fourth layer

-Ensures that data is error free

-Ensures data is sent in the proper order

Network Layer

-Fifth Layer

-Handles network congestion

-Handles message addressing

-Routes packet from source to destination

Data Link Layer

-Sixth Layer

-Establishes a logical link

-Relies on acknowledgement from other computer

-Re transmits any frames that are not acknowledged

Physical Layer

-Seventh and final layer

-Defines cabling type

-Defines pin configurations

-Deals with transmission speeds and data encoding.