The Five Stages Of Alzheimer's Disease

785 Words 4 Pages
“Alzheimer 's disease is a progressive, degenerative disorder that attacks the brain 's nerve cells, or neurons, resulting in loss of memory, thinking and language skills, and behavioral changes” (AFA2016). In 2015, the Alzheimer Association estimated over 5 million people living in the United States has Alzheimer. 1 in 9 people 65 years and older has Alzheimer’s disease. Many people, myself-included, do not know that Alzheimer’s can affect you at any age. I choose this topic because even though I have a general knowledge of Alzheimer, I want to know more about it and its effect on a person’s life.
Alzheimer is commonly confused with dementia. “Dementia is a brain disorder that affects communication and performance of daily activities and Alzheimer’s disease is a form of dementia that specifically affects parts of the brain that control thought, memory and language.”
…show more content…
When Alzheimer’s become known, nerve cell tissue dies and the brain begins to shrink. When the brain shrinks the cortex, and hippocampus gets damage in the process. Planning, thinking remembering and creating new memory becomes closes to impossible. Plaque builds up between the nerves cells. A person can have Alzheimer’s 20 or more years before getting diagnosis. There are five stages of Alzheimer’s disease; preclinical, mild cognitive impairment, mild dementia, moderate dementia, and severe dementia. Preclinical can last for years without symptoms but mew technologies can show the amyloid beta (Alzheimer’s Trademark) proteins. Mild cognitive impairment shows a slight change in memory and thinking. Mild dementia has easily picked out symptoms, from loss of memory to getting lost. Moderate dementia, people grow confuse and forgetful and need help with everyday activities. Mental function declines, and movement and physical capabilities begins to decline. Normally, after being diagnosis, individuals lives 8-10

Related Documents

Related Topics