Types Of Tectonic Boundaries : Divergent, Subduction ( Or Convergent )

833 Words Apr 5th, 2016 4 Pages
Despite the seemingly solid nature of Earth, forces are constantly at work. Far beneath the surface, intense heat creates and destroys—and this, in turn, generates tremendous energy. The energy must be released some how, so natural disasters called “earthquakes” occur. Earth is a constantly changing and complex planet. It is not a solid ball of rock; rather, the planet is made up of a core, mantle, and crust, with each of these further divided into more layers. The outer layers of Earth’s crust are recycled and remade through a process described as plate tectonics, in which the outer layers glide over the mantle of the earth (Abbott, 2012). A supercontinent called Pangaea, which included the continents we know today, was created and pulled apart by plate tectonics about 200 million years ago (“Pangaea,” n.d.). There are three types of tectonic boundaries: divergent, subduction (or convergent), and transform. In subduction zones, one tectonic plate slides under another plate, divergent zones feature two plates pulling apart, and transform boundaries are formed when two plates grind against each other in opposite directions (Oskin, 2016).
The constant moving of the earth’s crust creates immense stress and tension that has to be relieved. However, the stress placed on the boundaries is not equal; subduction boundaries in particular create large amounts of energy (Abbott, 2012). Thus, in order to get rid of that tension, earthquakes occur. An earthquake happens when two…

Related Documents