Study your flashcards anywhere!

Download the official Cram app for free >

  • Shuffle
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Alphabetize
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Front First
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Both Sides
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Read
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off

How to study your flashcards.

Right/Left arrow keys: Navigate between flashcards.right arrow keyleft arrow key

Up/Down arrow keys: Flip the card between the front and back.down keyup key

H key: Show hint (3rd side).h key

A key: Read text to speech.a key


Play button


Play button




Click to flip

21 Cards in this Set

  • Front
  • Back
Dharma: Buddhist

The totality of Buddhist teachings about how to view the world and how to live properly.

They are practical in nature, dealing with the two most important questions according to the Buddha.

One of the Three Jewels of Buddhism along with Dukkha and Buddha.

1. How can we minimize suffering. Both our own and of others.

2. How can we attain inner peace.
Sangha: Buddhist.

The community of monks and nuns.

One of the Three Jewels (the core of basic Buddhism) along with The Buddha and Dharma.
Anichcha: Buddhist.

Impermanence, constant change.

Everything in the universe is constantly changing and in flux.

One of the Three Marks of Reality along with Anatta (no permanent identity) and Dukkha (sorrow, suffering).
Anatta: Buddhist.

The doctrine that there is no soul or permanent essence in people or things.

Rejection of Hindu concept of Atman.

One of the Three Marks of Reality, along with Dukkha (sorrow, suffering) and Anichcha (impermanence, change).
Dukkha: Buddhist.

Sorrow, misery, suffering, dis-ease, dissatisfaction.

One of the Three Marks of Reality, along with Anatta (no permanent identity) and Anichcha (impermanence, change).
Dhyana: Buddhist (and Hindu).

Meditation; focusing of the mind; sometimes, stages of trance.

Part of the Noble Eightfold Path in Buddhism.

Zen takes its name from this step of the Noble Eightfold Path.
Samadhi: Buddhist (and Hindu).

A state of deep awareness, the result of intensive meditation.

Eighth step in the Noble Eightfold Path in Buddhism.
Samsara: Buddhist (and Hindu)

Constant rebirth and the attendant suffering; the everyday world of change.

Influence of Hindu thought on Buddhism.

The release from Samsara comes with the attainment of Nirvana (similar to Moksha).
Arhat: Theravada Buddhism.

In Theravada, a person who has practised monastic disciplines and reached nirvana, the ideal.

"Perfect being", "worthy".
Tripitaka: Theravada Buddhism.

The three "baskets", or collections, of Buddhist texts.

Baskets refers to their being divided according to their subject matter into three groups.

Vinaya: procedural rules for monastic life.

Sutta/Sutra: Sayings of the Buddha in the form of sermons or dialogues.

Abhidhamma: "the works that go beyond the elementary teachings".
Commentary on the Sutta.
Stupa: Buddhist (Theravada).

A shrine, usually in the shape of a dome, used to mark Buddhist relics or sacred sites.

Began as large mounds.
Karuna: Buddhism (Mahayana).

Compassion, mercy, kindness.

In the sense that we are all interconnected and being helpful to others is helpful to ourselves.

Links to concept of Bodhisattva.
Bodhisattva: Buddhism (Mahayana)

"Enlightenment being"; in Mahayana, a person of deep compassion, especially one who does not enter nirvana but is constantly reborn to help others; a heavenly being of compassion (karuna).

Bodhisattva vow: to be constantly reborn until all are enlightened.
Trikaya: Buddhist (Mahayana).

The three bodies of the Buddha.

1. the Dharmakaya (cosmic Buddha nature).
The law body, form body, or body of reality.

2. the Nirmanakaya (historical Buddhas).
The transformation body.

3. the Sambhogakaya (celestial Buddhas).
The perfect bliss body.
Govern "Buddha Lands".

Eg. Amitabha Buddha.
Amitabha Buddha: Buddhist (Mahayana)

The Buddha of the Western Paradise, a bliss-body Buddha in Mahayana.

He recieves the dying who wish enlightenment after death.

His Buddha Land lies in the western direction of the setting sun.

Related to Trikaya (Sambhoyakaya Buddha).
Shunyata: Buddhist (Mahayana).

The Mahayana notion of emptiness, meaning that the universe is empty of permanent reality.

Emptiness or Zero-ness.

Patterns, everything is changing.

We are made up of the shifting relationships between things.
Tathata: Buddhist (Mahayana).

"Thatness", "thusness", "suchness"; the uniqueness of each changing moment of reality.
Satori: Buddhist (Zen).

In Zen, the enlightened awareness.

Awareness of the unity of oneself with the rest of the universe.

Related to the KOAN.
A technique to achieve Satori.
Koan: Buddhist (Zen).

In Zen Buddhism, a question that cannot be answered logically; a technique to test consciousness and bring awakening (satori).

Related to SATORI.
Lama: Buddhist (Vajrayana).

A Tibetan Buddhist teacher; a title of honour given to all Tibetan monks.

Tibetan translation of the Hindu term: Guru.
Vajra: Buddhist (Vajrayana).

The diamond scepter used in Tibetan and other types of Buddhist ritual, symbolizing compassion.

Represents a stylized lightning bolt.

Associated with diamond hardness, power, and insight.

Held in the right hand and suggests action.

A bell is held in the left hand and suggests wisdom.

Together they represent the union of wisdom and compassion.

Essential to Vajrayana ritual.