Study your flashcards anywhere!

Download the official Cram app for free >

  • Shuffle
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Alphabetize
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Front First
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Both Sides
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Read
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off

How to study your flashcards.

Right/Left arrow keys: Navigate between flashcards.right arrow keyleft arrow key

Up/Down arrow keys: Flip the card between the front and back.down keyup key

H key: Show hint (3rd side).h key

A key: Read text to speech.a key


Play button


Play button




Click to flip

9 Cards in this Set

  • Front
  • Back
Major and natural minor scales that share the same tonic. C major and c (natural).
Parallel major and minor
Same as major pentachord but with a flatted third scale degree (W-H-W-W)
Minor pentachord
Major tetrachord, used for melodic minor ascending (W-W-H); Phrygian tetrachord, used for melodic minor descending and natural minor (H-W-W); and Harmonic tetrachord, used for harmonic minor (H-A2-H)
Upper tetrachords for minor scales
The following sequence of diatonic whole and half steps 3, 6, 7 or minor pentachord plus a Phrygian tetrachord
Natural minor scale
A minor scale with differing ascending and descending forms. In the ascending form, it is like a major scale with a flatted thrid scale degree (W-H-W-W-W-W-H); In descending form, it is like a natural minor scale (W-W-H-W-W-H-W). Can also be thought of as a minor pentachord plus a major tetrachord when ascending and Phrygian tetrachord plus minor pentachord when descending
Melodic minor scale
The same as the natural minor scale wit the exception of scale degree 7, which is raised so that it is a semitone from scale degree 8 (tonic). Can also be though of as a minor pentachord plus a harmonic tetrachord
Harmonic minor scale
Major and natural minor scales that share the same pitches, and hence the same key signatures. C major and a (natural) minor.
Relative major and minor
A more general name for any eight-tone scale that spans on octave while using only the white keys on the piano. The "church" kinds, as they are called in modern times are the Ionian (C-C), Dorian (D-D), etc.
A scale that spans an octave but utilizes only five unique pitch classes. The most common forms are major (W-W-m3-W-m3) and minor (m3-W-W-m3-W) pentatonic
Pentatonic scale