• Shuffle
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Alphabetize
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Front First
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Both Sides
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Read
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
Reading...
Front

How to study your flashcards.

Right/Left arrow keys: Navigate between flashcards.right arrow keyleft arrow key

Up/Down arrow keys: Flip the card between the front and back.down keyup key

H key: Show hint (3rd side).h key

A key: Read text to speech.a key

image

Play button

image

Play button

image

Progress

1/66

Click to flip

66 Cards in this Set

  • Front
  • Back
Why does a therapist have to keep records for their clients?
To develop a treatment plan, continuity of care.
How must health records be maintained?
Systematically collected, reviewed, updated, & be available for inspection.
T/F A separate establishment registration is required at addresses where more than one therapist is practicing AND at addresses where only 1 therapist is practicing, their professional license will double as the establishment registration.
True.
What is the minimum passing grade for the state exam?
70%
How many hours of school must you have to apply for licensing?
500 hours
How many minutes in a clock hour of training?
50 minutes.
How many CEU's are required every year after your first year?
12 CEU's
How often do you have to renew CEU's?
Yearly.
Can CEU’s be carried over from one year to the next?
No!
Can you attend classes out of state for CEU’s & still get credit for them?
Yes, if they are Louisiana approved.
How do you know if someone is LA Board approved for CEU’s?
Check the Louisiana State Board website for the class approval - http://www.lsbmt.org/program_list.htm
When renewing your license, what is the deadline for sending your renewal form, proof of CEU’s, and renewal fee?
December 31 of each year.
When can an investigative officer of the board come investigate your business?
Any time during normal business hours.
What kind of insurance do you have to have?
Property damage insurance and Bodily injury liability insurance.
If you are charged with a misdemeanor by breaking the massage laws, what is the penalty?
$1,000, 6 months in jail or both; 5 year loss of license(s)
Is a massage license required in order to practice reflexology?
Yes.
Is zoning governed by the state board?
No, zoning requirements are subject to local laws.
Does your state license supersede zoning requirements?
No.
The Louisiana State Board of Massage Therapy is under the jurisdiction of what State Department?
Department of Health and Hospitals (DHH)
What is the definition of massage therapist?
An individual who practices massage therapy on a patron of either gender for compensation.
What is the definition of massage therapy?
The manipulation of soft tissue for the purpose of maintaining good health and establishing & maintaining good physical condition.
Are the terms shiatsu and bodywork equivalent terms for massage therapy?
Yes
What is definition of drape?
Towels, sheets, or gowns used to cover a client during a massage session.
What practices are not included in the practice of massage?
electrotherapy, the use of prescription or medicinal creams, laser therapy, microwave therapy, colonic therapy, injection therapy, or manipulation of the joints (manipulation does NOT mean mobilization); it does not include diagnosis, treatment of illness or disease, or any service requiring a license to practice medicine, chiropractic, physical therapy, or podiatry.
Can creams, salts, powders, and lotions be used for the application of massage?
Yes, except for prescription creams.
Are effleurage, petrissage, tapotement, & vibration all terms for strokes in massage?
Yes.
To what geographical region does this law apply?
Louisiana.
How many board members are there?
Seven (5 massage therapists, 2 lay people)
How many days do you have to file after December 31st and pay a late fee?
30 days.
How much is the late fee?
$100.
What happens after the 30 day grace period?
Your license lapses; you must cease practicing & meet with the hearing officer for disciplinary action before resuming practice.
Who provides a Code of Ethics?
The State Board.
Must the massage therapist agree to follow the code of ethics in order to be licensed?
Yes.
Can a massage therapist be employed by a medical physician or osteopathic physician?
No.
What is the cost for a provisional license?
$25
How much is the State Exam fee?
$75.
How much is the License Renewal fee?
$125.
How much is an Original Establishment License fee?
$100.
How much is Establishment License renewal?
$100.
Can a massage therapist be directly employed by a chiropractic physician?
Yes.
How many times can you renew a provisional license?
Once.
What are the provisional license limitations?
Therapist must work under the direct supervision of an already licensed therapist; can only advertise if they specify that they are provisionally licensed and list the name, license number and establishment number of the supervising licensed massage therapist.
Can a massage establishment employ unlicensed massage therapists who have not been granted a provisional license?
No.
All licenses are property of whom?
The Louisiana State Board of Massage Therapy.
To whom must all licenses be surrendered upon demand?
The State Board.
What are some terms of the conditional license?
The Board may require substance abuse or psychological counseling, access to medical or court records, limitation of a practice, supervision.
What areas must be draped?
Male clients must have buttocks and genitalia covered; female clients must have breasts, buttocks and genitalia covered.
Name 3 sanitary requirements.
Linens must be laundered after each use. Premises kept clean & vermin - free. Fire extinguisher available. Toilet & sink with running water & soap. Compliance with local codes.
What is specifically prohibited by law?
Sexual activity.
How is sexual activity defined?
ANY direct or indirect contact which is intended to erotically stimulate either the client or the therapist.
How is sexual activity categorized under Louisiana Law?
Professional Misconduct.
Name some reasons for revocation of license.
Failing the exam. Cheating on the exam. False applications. Selling your license. Unprofessional conduct. Felony conviction.
Is a massage therapist fails to renew their license and is practicing massage therapy without a license beyond the month of January, is this a major or minor violation?
Major.
What are the only licensed professionals who can advertise massage?
Massage therapists, physical therapists, athletic trainers, chiropractors and massage establishments.
What must all ads contain?
Therapist’s license number & establishment registration number.
If you have been granted an establishment license from the state, do have to obtain a local license to operate your business as well?
Yes, if your local laws require an occupational license.
If you have an establishment license, but your local business and zoning laws have more requirements than the state law, which one supersedes?
The local law supersedes the State.
If your local law has less requirements (fire extinguisher, rest room access, etc) than the state law, which one supersedes?
The State Law is the minimum requirement.
All licenses must be placed where?
Posted in plain view of the public (the treatment room or waiting area).
If you get your first license in September, when do you renew?
By December 31st of that same year.
Can you practice between the time you take the oral exam and receive your license?
No, not for compensation.
Can you practice between the time you take the oral exam and receive your license with a provisional license?
No, the provisional license expires when you take the oral exam.
What must you have to practice massage?
A current massage license or a provisional license.
What is required at addresses where more than one therapist is practicing?
A separate establishment registration.
At addresses where only 1 therapist is practicing, does their professional license double as the establishment registration?
Yes.