Study your flashcards anywhere!

Download the official Cram app for free >

  • Shuffle
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Alphabetize
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Front First
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Both Sides
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Read
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off

How to study your flashcards.

Right/Left arrow keys: Navigate between flashcards.right arrow keyleft arrow key

Up/Down arrow keys: Flip the card between the front and back.down keyup key

H key: Show hint (3rd side).h key

A key: Read text to speech.a key


Play button


Play button




Click to flip

7 Cards in this Set

  • Front
  • Back
The guiding rules for Islam based on the way Muhammad lived his own life. Includes the 5 pillars of faith.Traditional Islamic law.
The sacred book of Islam belived to contain the revelations made to Muhammad by Allah.
The "fifth Pillar of Faith"

The pilgrimage to Mecca: All muslims who can afford it must make the pilgrimage at least once. Before arriving, they must bathe, cut their hair and nails and take off any jewelry. White seamless garments are worn to symbolize a state of purity. It is a symbol of Muslim unity.
The "first Pillar of Faith"

The profession of faith that expresses a Muslim's acceptance of Islam requires the repetition of the phrase:

"There is no god but Allah, and Muhammad is his prophet."
The "second Pillar of Faith"

Muslims must pray five times a day following special rituals like: washing before praying, bowing and kneeling and facing Mecca during prayer. At noon on Fridays public prayer at a mosque is required.
The "third Pillar of Faith"

Muslims are expected to show charity to the poor by giving alms and contributing to public charities.
The "fourth Pillar of Faith"

A fast during Ramadan, the ninth month of the Muslim years is observed to bring muslims closer to Allah. No food or drink is allowed between sunrise and sunset during this time. Ramadan is belived to be the month in which Muhammad received his first message from Allah.