Study your flashcards anywhere!

Download the official Cram app for free >

  • Shuffle
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Alphabetize
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Front First
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Both Sides
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Read
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off

How to study your flashcards.

Right/Left arrow keys: Navigate between flashcards.right arrow keyleft arrow key

Up/Down arrow keys: Flip the card between the front and back.down keyup key

H key: Show hint (3rd side).h key

A key: Read text to speech.a key


Play button


Play button




Click to flip

10 Cards in this Set

  • Front
  • Back
What is the DSM classification system based on?
-description, not cause
-divides disorders into types based on criteria set with defining features
Axis 1
-clinical disorders and other conditions which may be a focus of clinical attention
Axis 2
-personality disorder and mental retardation
Axis 3
-Any physical disorder that is present in addition to the mental disorder
Axis 4
-psychosocial and environmental factors that exacerbate the disorders
Axis 5
-global assessment of function scale (GAF) where the clinician judges the patient's overall level of functioning
What is the ICD?
-another classification system
-developed by WHO
-required by medicare
-less restrictive then DSM (only 3 axes)
Mental status exam
-formal eval of the patient's appearance, speech and actions during the visit
Why do we do a mental status exam?
The exam can be used to assess mental functioning and its relation to underlying pathology
ability of a person to understand the true underlying cause or meaning of a situation