• Shuffle
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Alphabetize
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Front First
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Both Sides
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Read
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off

How to study your flashcards.

Right/Left arrow keys: Navigate between flashcards.right arrow keyleft arrow key

Up/Down arrow keys: Flip the card between the front and back.down keyup key

H key: Show hint (3rd side).h key

A key: Read text to speech.a key


Play button


Play button




Click to flip

10 Cards in this Set

  • Front
  • Back
Gerhard Ertl
2007, "for his studies of chemical processes on solid surfaces" (i.e. Fe and Pd catalysts)
Roger D. Kornberg
2006, "for his studies of the molecular basis of eukaryotic transcription" (the process by which genetic information from DNA is copied to RNA)
Robert Grubbs
Richard Schrock
Yves Chauvin
2005, "for the development of the metathesis method in organic synthesis" (involves redistribution of olefinic (alkene) bonds) (The reaction is catalyzed by metals such as nickel, tungsten, ruthenium and molybdenum)
Aaron Ciechanover
Avram Hershko
Irwin Rose
2004, "for the discovery of ubiquitin-mediated protein degradation"
Peter Agre
Roderick MacKinnon
Agre: "for the discovery of water channels" (Aquaporins selectively conduct water molecules in and out, while preventing the passage of ions and other solutes)
MacKinnon:"for structural and mechanistic studies of ion channels"
John B. Fenn
Koichi Tanaka

Kurt Wüthrich
2002, "for their development of soft desorption ionisation methods for mass spectrometric analyses of biological macromolecules"

"for his development of nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy for determining the three-dimensional structure of biological macromolecules in solution"
William S. Knowles
Ryoji Noyori

K. Barry Sharpless
2001, "for their work on chirally catalysed hydrogenation reactions"

"for his work on chirally catalysed oxidation reactions"
Alan J. Heeger
Alan G MacDiarmid
Hideki Shirakawa
2000, "for their discovery and development of conductive polymers"
Ahmed H. Zewail
1999, "for his studies of the transition states of chemical reactions using femtosecond spectroscopy"
Walter Kohn

John A. Pople
1998, "for his development of the density functional theory"

"for his development of computational methods in quantum chemistry"