Study your flashcards anywhere!

Download the official Cram app for free >

  • Shuffle
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Alphabetize
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Front First
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Both Sides
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Read
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off

How to study your flashcards.

Right/Left arrow keys: Navigate between flashcards.right arrow keyleft arrow key

Up/Down arrow keys: Flip the card between the front and back.down keyup key

H key: Show hint (3rd side).h key

A key: Read text to speech.a key


Play button


Play button




Click to flip

20 Cards in this Set

  • Front
  • Back
  • 3rd side (hint)
What are the Four Noble Truths?
1. DUKHA: All life is suffering.

2. SAMUDAYA: There is a cause of suffering: attachment and desire (tanha).

3. NIRODHA: There is a way out of suffering: eliminate attachment and desire.

4. MAGGA: The path that leads out of suffering is the Noble Eightfold Path.

This outline is exactly that used by doctors of Buddha's culture: identify the disease, its cause, whether it is curable, and the prescribed cure. Thus the Buddha treats suffering as a "disease" we can confidently expect to cure.
What are the Three Ways of Practice?
1. Keeping the Precepts.

2. Practicing concentration of mind.

3. Always acting wisely.
What are the elements of the Noble Eightfold Path?
1. Right view.

2. Right thought.

3. Right speech.

4. Right behavior.

5. Right livelihood.

6. Right effort.

7. Right mindfulness.

8. Right concentration.
6. Right effort. 7. Right mindfulness. 8. Right concentration.
What is Right View?
Right view means to thoroughly understand the Fourfold Truth, to believe in the law of cause and effect and not to be deceived by appearances and desire.
What is Right Thought?
Right Thought means the resolution not to cherish desires, not to be greedy, not to be angry, and not to do any harmful deed.
What is Right Speech?
Right Speech means the avoidance of lying words, idle words, abusive words, and double-tongues.
What is Right Behavior?
Right Behavior means not to destroy life, not to steal, and not to commit adultery.
What is Right Livelihood?
Right Livelihood means to avoid any life that would bring shame.
What is Right Effort?
Right Effort means to try to do one's best diligently toward the right direction.
What is Right Mindfulness?
Right Mindfulness means to maintain a pure and thoughtful mind.
What is Right Concentration?
Right Concentration means to keep the mind right and tranquil for its concentration, seeking to realize the mind's pure essence.
What are the Four View-Points to be considered?
FIRST, to consider the body impure, to remove all attachements to it.

SECOND, to consider the senses as a source of suffering, whatever their feelings of pain or pleasure may be.

THIRD, to consider the mind to be in a constant state of flux.

FOURTH, to consider everything in the world as being a consequence of causes and conditions, and that nothing remains unchanged forever.
What are the Four Right Procedures?
FIRST, to prevent any evil from starting,

SECOND, to remove any evil as soon as it starts,

THIRD, to induce the doing of good deeds, and

FOURTH, to encourage the growth and continuance of good deed that have already started.
What are the Five Faculties of Power?
1. The faith to believe.

2. The will to make the endeavour.

3. The faculty of alertness.

4. The ability to concentrate one's mind.

5. The ability to maintain clear wisdom. These five faculties are necessary powers to attain Enlightenment.
What are the Six Practices for reaching the other shore of Enlightenment?
1. The path of offering get rid of selfishness.

2. The path of keeping precepts keeps one thoughtful of the rights and comforts of others.

3. The path of endurance helps to control a fearful or angry mind.

4. The path of endeavor helps one to be diligent and faithful.

5. The path of concentration helps one to avoid a wandering and futile mind.

6. The path of wisdom changes a dark and confused mind into a clear and penetrating insight.
What are the Seven Offerings?
1. The physical offering is to offer service by one's labor, or to offer up one's life.

2. The spiritual offering is to offer a compassionate heart to others.

3. The offering of eyes is to give a warm glance to others which will give them tranquility.

4. The offering of countenance is to offer a soft face with a smile to others.

5. The oral offering is to offer kind and warm words to others.

6. The seat offering is to offer your place to another.

7. The offering of shelter is to let another share your home.

These kinds of offerings can be practised by anybody in everyday.
What are the Four Unlimited States of Mind?
There are Four Unlimited States of Mind that the seeker of Enlightenment should cherish.

1. COMPASSION removes greed.

2. TENDERNESS removes anger.

3. GLADNESS removes suffering.

4. EQUANAMITY removes the habit of discrimination.
What are the Three Treasures?
The Buddha.

The Dharma.

The Sangha.
What are the Precepts?
1. Not to kill,

2. Not to steal,

3. Not to commit adultery,

4. Not to lie,

5. Not to take intoxicants.