Study your flashcards anywhere!

Download the official Cram app for free >

  • Shuffle
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Alphabetize
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Front First
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Both Sides
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Read
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off

How to study your flashcards.

Right/Left arrow keys: Navigate between flashcards.right arrow keyleft arrow key

Up/Down arrow keys: Flip the card between the front and back.down keyup key

H key: Show hint (3rd side).h key

A key: Read text to speech.a key


Play button


Play button




Click to flip

11 Cards in this Set

  • Front
  • Back
Literally, heads of families, or rulers of tribes. The Old Testament patriarchs are Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, and Jacob's 12 sons. Patriarchs may also refer to the bishops of the five bishoprics of Christendom: Alexandria, Jerusalem, Antioch, Constantinople, and Rome.
In Christian art, prophets usually mean the Old Testament figures whose writings were seen to foretell the coming of Christ. The so-called major prophets are Isaiah, Jeremiah, and Ezekiel
Central to Christian belief is the doctrine that One God exists in Three Persons: Father, Son (Jesus) and the Holy Spirit, often represented as a dove.
Holy Family
The infant Jesus, his mother Mary, and his father Joseph constitute the Holy Family. Sometimes Mary's mother Ann appears with them.
John the Baptist
The precursor of Jesus Christ, John is regarded by Christians as the last prophet before the coming of the Messiah, Jesus. John was an ascetic who baptised his disciples in the name of the coming Messiah; he recognized Jesus as that Messiah when he saw the Holy Spirit descend on Jesus when he came to be baptised.
There are four: Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John- each an author of one of the Gospels. Matthew and John were among Jesus' 12 apostles. Mark and Luke wrote in the sencond half of the first century.

Matthew is symbolized by a Man, to represent the human nature of Christ.

Mark is symbolized by a lion, to represent Christ as king

Luke is symbolized by a bull or a calf, to represent Christ as sacrifice and as priest

John is symbolized by an eagle, to represent Christ as God, or to represent God's "all-seeing eye"
The apostles are the twelve disciples Jesus asked to convert nations to his faith. They are Peter (Simon Peter), Andrew, James the Greater, John, Philip, Bartholomew, Matthew, Thomas, James the Less, Jude (or Thaddaeus), Simon the Caananite, and Judas Iscariot. After Judus betrayed Jesus, his place was taken by Matthias. St. Paul (though not a disciple) is also considered an apostle.
Angels and Archangels
Beings of spirtual nature, angels are spoken of in the Old and New Testaments as having been created by God to be heavenly messengers between God and human beings, Heaven and earth. Spoken of first by the apostle Paul, archangels, unlike angels, have names: Michael, Gabriel, and Raphael.
Meaning "father", the term refers to the Bishop of Rome, the spiritual head of the Catholic Chrurch. Throughout most of Christian history, the pope ruled a large territory that occupied much of central Italy. His chief attribute is the shepherd's staff; he dresses in white.
Priests or higher religious officials chosen to help the pope administer the Church. There are two types: those who live in Rome (the Curia) and those who remain in their dioceses (Most cardinals are already bishops at the time of their appointment, the majority being archbishops of important archdioceses or patriarchs).

Together they constitute the Sacred College. One of their duties is to elect a pope after the death or removal of a sitting pope.

They wear a red cassock (robe) and, depending on the occasion, one of three ceremonial hats.
Bishops and Archbishops
A bishop is the highest order of minister in the Catholic Church, with his administrative territory being the diocese (a.k.a. bishopric, synod, see).

Bishops are ordained by archbishops, who also have the authority to consecrate kings.

Bishops carry an elaborately curved staff called a crozier and, on ceremonial occasions, wear a three-pointed hat.