Study your flashcards anywhere!

Download the official Cram app for free >

  • Shuffle
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Alphabetize
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Front First
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Both Sides
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Read
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off

How to study your flashcards.

Right/Left arrow keys: Navigate between flashcards.right arrow keyleft arrow key

Up/Down arrow keys: Flip the card between the front and back.down keyup key

H key: Show hint (3rd side).h key

A key: Read text to speech.a key


Play button


Play button




Click to flip

40 Cards in this Set

  • Front
  • Back
What are the 2 main types of wound classifications?
Wounds are generally classified by whether they are closed or open.
What are the 4 types of open wounds?
Open wound types are abrasions, incisions, lacerations, and punctures.
What is another definition for abrasions?
Abrasions are also called road rash.
What are abrasions?
Abrasions are a superficial wound in which epidermis and part of dermal layer have been scraped away.
What are incisions?
Incisions are openings made with an extremely sharp object, and usually have clean edges.
What are lacerations?
Lacerations are wounds created by dull objects, and usually have jagged edges.
What are punctures?
Punctures are made by penetration of a sharp object.
What is the difference between a perforating puncture and and penetrating puncture?
A perforating puncture has an entrance and exit wound, and a penetrating puncture has an entrance wound.
What are 4 ways that open wounds are assessed?
Open wounds are classified as either clean, clean contaminated, contaminated, and infected.
What is the difference between clean contaminated wounds and contaminated wounds?
Clean contaminated wounds are less than 6 hours old and show no signs of contamination, while contaminated wounds are over 6 hours old and show evidence of contamination.
What are the 3 steps used in classifying a wound?
Wounds are first classified as open or closed, then cause is determined, followed by time elapsed since injury.
What are the signs of an infected wound?
An infected wound is pussy, has necrotic dead tissue, and has debris in wound.
What are the 4 stages of healing?
The 4 stages of healing are inflammatory, debridement, re-epithelialization, and remodeling.
What are the 4 signs produced by histamine reaction?
The 4 signs produced by histamines are swelling, redness, heat, and associated pain.
What is debridement?
Debridement is when macrophages start to eat dead tissue and cleaning up the wound.
What is re-epithelialization?
Re-epithelialization is when new skin cells begin to grow across the granulation bed in order to form new skin growth.
What is remodeling?
Remodeling is the process of smoothing and thinning out scar tissue.
What is another name for remodeling?
Remodeling is also called maturation.
What are the 3 types of healing?
The 3 types of healing are first, second, and third intention.
Which intention of healing is surgical in nature?
First intention occurs in a clean or properly treated wound less than 6 hours.
What is another term for second intention healing?
Second intention healing can also be called natural healing occuring in wounds over 6 hours old.
What is third intention healing?
Third intention healing is a combination of second intention and first intention healing.
When will a wound begin to gain strength?
A wound will being to gain strength about 7 days after cause.
When will a wound gain maximum strength?
A wound will gain maximum strength at 14 days.
What are 4 common wound complications?
Common wound complications are infection, dehiscence, hematoma/seroma, and wound contracture.
What are signs of infection?
Signs of infection include redness, purulent discharge, swelling, and possible odor.
What is one of the most common causes of dehiscence?
One of the most common causes of dehiscence is infection, usually caused by improper home care.
What is a hematoma/seroma?
A hematoma is an accumulation of blood or serum below suture line.
What is used to take the pressure off hematomas?
Drains are used to take the pressure off hematomas and seromas.
What is wound contracture?
Wound contracture is the formation of scar tissue creating a lack of use in area.
What are the 6 purposes of suture material?
The purpose of suture material is to realign tissue edges, close dead speaces, tighten joints, strengthen weakened tissues, ligate bleeding vessels, and to hold tissues in place.
What are 7 ideal suture properties?
Ideal suture properties are strength, absorbability, easy to hyandle, minimal tissue reaction, monofilament, good knotting ability, and economical.
What are the 2 categories of suture?
Suture categories are absorbable and nonabsorbable.
What are the 2 types of suture?
Suture types are monofilament and braided.
What are the 3 most used absorbable sutures?
The 3 most used sutures are vicryl, PDS, and catgut.
What are 5 types of absorable suture?
Absorbable sutures include catgut, dexon, vicryl, PDS, and maxon.
What was the first absorbable suture ever used?
The first absorbable suture ever used was catgut.
What are 4 types of nonabsorbable suture?
Nonabsorbable sutures include silk, cotton, stainless steel, and nylon.
What is one of the oldest suture materials?
Silk is one of the oldest suture materials.
Which 3 suture materials cannot be autoclaved?
Gut, PDS, and Maxon cannot be autoclaved.