Study your flashcards anywhere!

Download the official Cram app for free >

  • Shuffle
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Alphabetize
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Front First
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Both Sides
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Read
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off

How to study your flashcards.

Right/Left arrow keys: Navigate between flashcards.right arrow keyleft arrow key

Up/Down arrow keys: Flip the card between the front and back.down keyup key

H key: Show hint (3rd side).h key

A key: Read text to speech.a key


Play button


Play button




Click to flip

14 Cards in this Set

  • Front
  • Back

Developmental Psych

Study of how humans grow, develop and change throughout their life span.

First 3 stages of development

1. Sensory-motor

2. Pre-operational

3. Concrete operational

Symbolic Function

The understanding that one thing- object, a word, etc. can stand for another.


The realization that any change in shape,position, or order of matter can be reversed mentally.


The process by which new objects, events,experiences, or information is incorporated into existing schemes. Example: Thinking a plum will bouncesince you have been playing with bouncy balls.


Themodification of schemes/ creation to incorporate new objects. Example: The realization that someround objects bounce, but others do not.

3 parenting types

1. Authoritarian

2. Authoritative

3. Permissive

Authoritarian Parenting

value authority and obedience.

Authoritative Parenting

Set standards, reason, encourage communicationand independence.

Permissive Parenting

Make few rules allow children to control theirown behavior.


Actions that initiate, direct and sustain behavior.

Intrinsic Motivation

Desire to act in a way because it is enjoyable.

Extrinsic Motivation

Desire to behave in a certain way in order togain some reward or to avoid a consequence.

Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs

1.Need for Self Actualization: Realize One’sFull Potential

2.Esteem Needs: Need to gain respect andrecognition from others.

3. Belonging and Loving Needs: Need to loveand be loved. Acceptance.

4. Safety Needs: Safety and Security.

5. Physiological Needs: Food, Water, Oxygen,etc.