Study your flashcards anywhere!

Download the official Cram app for free >

  • Shuffle
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Alphabetize
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Front First
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Both Sides
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Read
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off

How to study your flashcards.

Right/Left arrow keys: Navigate between flashcards.right arrow keyleft arrow key

Up/Down arrow keys: Flip the card between the front and back.down keyup key

H key: Show hint (3rd side).h key

A key: Read text to speech.a key


Play button


Play button




Click to flip

56 Cards in this Set

  • Front
  • Back
abraham maslow
organized basic human needs into levels
first level of maslows hierarchy
food, air, water, shelter, clothing, rest
physical needs
the second level of maslows hierarchy
security needs
security, stability, order, protection, freedom from fear and anxiety
security needs
third level of maslow's hierarchy
social needs
acceptance, affection
social needs
the fourth level of maslows hierarchy
esteem needs
feel positive about one's self, esteem from others
esteem needs
the last level of maslows hierarchy
self-actualization needs
live up to their potential
self-actualization needs
activities of daily living
eating, breathing, dressing, grooming, elimination, walking, communication
a patient of old age or aging
of or relating to the care and treatment of children
of the medical practice that deals with pregnancy and childbirth
a patient before an operation
a patient after an operation
patients who have various conditions other than requiring an operation
medical care patients
accumulation of customs, values, and objects shared by a people
changes that can be measured
changes we move through in our behavior and how we relate to others
set of tasks that must be accomplished to complete a stage of development
developmental task
from birth to 4 weeks
birth to one year
neonate and infancy
1- 3years
toddler period
3-5 years old
preschool period
6- 9 years old; formal schooling
primary period
10- 12 years old
preadolescent period
13- 18 years old
adolescent period
first menstrual period
19- 40 years old
young adulthood
41- 65 years old
middle adulthood
66 and older
late adulthood and old age
the accumulation of individual characteristics that distinguish someone or something
created a way of looking at the tasks people accomplishes their personalities develop
erik erikson
1st year of eriksons stages
hope and trust
2nd year of eriksons stages of development
sense of self-control & self-esteem
3rd- 5th years of eriksons stages of development
start activities, enjoy accomplishments
6th- puberty stage of eriksons
sense of being competent, able to use skills and tools to make things
adolescence of eriksons stages of development
sense of identity; able to see oneself as a unique person
early adulthood according to erikson
able to love and commit to others
middle age according to erikson
concern for others, for one's children, work or ideas
old age according to erikson
wisdom- certain of the meaning of one's own life and of personal dignity, acceptance that one will die
a period that occurs during the teenage years
the natural stopping of mensturation
group members of about the same age act alike
peer pressure
the period after childbirth
the stage, which the sex organs mature
a common mental disorder of people in long-term care
they usually suport and care
formal school begins during what stage
primary period
brief and severe
a disease that is always present
the one mainly responsible for meeting a child's basic needs or for a person who is ill or disabled
primary caregiver
involuntary reaction in response to a stimulus