Types Of Family Life Cycle

3220 Words 13 Pages
Register to read the introduction… It also includes developing a way or thinking or living that may be guided by a higher power, or by personal fulfilment.
- This is the process in which an individual develops the behaviours that are expected by society.
- There are two types: primary (within the immediate family) and secondary (outside the family).
- The ABS defines the family as two or more persons, one of whom is at least 15 years of age, who are related by blood, marriage, adoption, step or fostering and who are usually resident in the same household.
- There are ten different family structures… * Nuclear: This family consists of a married couple with at least one child. * Communal: This is formed when a number of adults and children, not related, choose to live together as one family. * Blended: This is created when two families come together to make one family. * Extended: This is where other relatives live in the same home with a nuclear family. * Same-sex * Defacto: This is where the couple are not legally married, but have lived together for at least 12 months, making them a legally recognised couple. *
…show more content…
- The beginning stage begins when a relationship is formed. This is a time of relationship building and decision-making.
- The expanding stage is where the couple has children. It continues while the children are still living in the family home.
- The contracting stage occurs when the children become independent and move out of the family home. At this stage, the children begin their own family life cycle.
Family Adjustment and Adaption Response (FAAR)
- The FAAR model looks at how a family responds to a stressor, or crisis / change.
- It consists of two phases: the adjustment phase and the adaption phase.
- The adjustment phase concerns how the family initially balances the demands of the change. It looks at what strains have come into their life and what resources they use to adjust to them.
- The adaption phase looks at how the family, over a period of time, adapts to the crisis and returns to a routine / sense of normality. There are two levels of this phase: restructuring (the family has an awareness that changes need to occur) and consolidation (the family implements a solution to the problem and resolves the

Related Documents