The United States Of America 's Presidential System Essay

1885 Words Mar 30th, 2016 null Page
Under the United States of America’s presidential system and according to its Constitution, the federal government is split into three distinct branches: the executive, legislative, and judicial branches. The executive branch consists of the president, who is head of state and head of government and his cabinet. The president occupies office for a four-year term and is able to serve a maximum of two terms. During this period, he or she is in charge of U.S. foreign policy and is the commander-in-chief of the military. He or she also conducts daily governmental affairs, appoints executive and judicial branch members, and proposes and vetoes legislative bills. In order to properly manage a large bureaucracy, the President assigns cabinet members to major departments that assist him in making important decisions.
The “dominant branch of the U.S. government” is its legislature, Congress, which holds the power to create laws and the right to appropriate funds, in turn controlling how such laws are implemented. As a bicameral legislature, the U.S. Congress is comprised of the Senate (lower house) and the House of Representatives (upper house). The Senate consists of 100 members who each serve staggered six-year terms, with one-third of the group elected every two years. Each of the 50 states sends precisely 2 officials, who are elected in single-member plurality districts. The House of Representatives contains 435 members who serve two-year terms in single-member plurality…

Related Documents