The Treaty Of The North Atlantic Treaty Essay

1389 Words Dec 18th, 2015 6 Pages
On April 4 1949, the North Atlantic Treaty Organization, or also known as NATO, was established under the North Atlantic Treaty by Belgium, Canada, Great Britain, France, Iceland, Italy, Denmark, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, and the United States. Then as time has moved on, NATO still continues to be in intact today with twenty-eight countries and with the headquarters being in Brussels, Belgium. The North Atlantic Treaty was ultimately negotiated as a Western countermeasure against the threat of aggression by the Soviet Union during the Cold War. The treaty was intended and designed to safeguard the freedom of these countries and provide a joint self-defense. Furthermore, the treaty encouraged political, economic, and social cooperation between these countries. After World War II in 1945, Western Europe was economically and militarily weak, while the Soviet Union had emerged from the war dominating the states of Central and Eastern Europe. The Soviet Union had control of most of these governments and enforced Communism within each state. Thus, the United States wanted Europe to become economically strong, rearmed, and integrated in order to prevent communist expansion into the Western European states. The relationship between the United States and the Soviet Union was quickly fading in 1948 as there were disagreements over the postwar status of Germany. The United States and Soviet Union each organized a part of Germany with the United…

Related Documents