Essay on The Space Shuttle Challengeri Disaster

20305 Words Jul 24th, 2016 82 Pages
CRAM Exclusive
Essay Sample
The Space Shuttle Challenger Disaster I On January 28,1986, the space shuttle Challenger lifted off the launch pad at 1 1:38 A.M., beginning the flight of mission 51-L.' Approximately seventy-four seconds into the flight, the Challenger was engulfed in an explosive burn and all comrnunication and telemetry ceased. Seven brave crewmembers lost their lives. On board the Challenger were Francis R. (Dick) Scobee (commander), Michael John Smith (pilot), Ellison S. Onizuka (mission specialist

middle of document…

NASA was in a state of disarray, especially in the
management ranks. The agency had been without a permanent administrator for
almost four months. The turnover rate at the upper echelons of management was
significantly high, and there seemed to be a lack of direction from the top down.
Another reason for appointing a Presidential Commission was the visibility
of this mission. This mission had been known as the Teacher in Space mission,
and Christa McAuliffe, a Concord, New Hampshire, schoolteacher, had been selected from a list of over 10,000 applicants. The nation knew the names of all of
the crewmembers on board Challengel: The mission had been highly publicized
for months, stating that Christa McAuliffe would be teaching students from
aboard the Challenger on day four of the mission.
The Presidential Commission consisted of the following members:

William P. Rogers, chairman: Former secretary of state under
President Nixon and attorney general under President Eisenhower.
Neil A. Armstrong, vice chairman: Former astronaut and spacecraft
commander for Apollo 11.
David C. Acheson: Former senior vice president and general counsel,
Communications Satellite Corporation (1967-1974), and a partner in the
law firm of Drinker Biddle & Reath.
Dr. Eugene E. Covert: Professor and head, Department of Aeronautics
and Astronautics at Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
Dr. Richard P. Feynman: Physicist and professor of theoretical
physics at
CRAM Exclusive

Related Documents

  • Development of the Space Shuttle Essays

    next component of the shuttle is the three main engines. These engines are used during liftoff to get the shuttle into orbit. Third is the external tank, which powers the main engines and is used only once. The last component of the shuttle are the rocket boosters. These help the main engines during liftoff and are then dropped of the shuttle into the ocean.5 The Columbia was one of the first space shuttles to ever enter space. It blasted into space from the Kennedy Space Center at 7 a.m. on April

    Words: 991 - Pages: 4
  • Essay on The Space Shuttle Challenger Tragedy

    That’s when NASA came up with the Space shuttle. A light weight, reusable vehicle that would save lots of money and time for the company. Bad Weather played a huge role in the Challengers mission and liftoff success. The forecast for the day of the launch was 31 °F (−1 °C), this was the absolute minimum temperature allowed for safety. Morton Thiokol was the contracting company who was responsible for the making of the ships SRB’s (Solid Rocket Boosters) because of the weather they showed concern

    Words: 1239 - Pages: 5
  • The Challenger and Columbia Shuttle Disaster: NASA Essay

    government’s lead agency that heads up manned and un-manned space flight and it was agency that facilitated putting an American on the moon. But in 1986 the organization that had put a man on the moon had now failed and resulted in the loss of the space shuttle Challenger and the seven crewmembers. Under these pressures NASA made Second-Order Transformational changes. NASA not only made the recommended design changes to make the shuttle safer but restructured and reengineered the organization. After

    Words: 1388 - Pages: 6
  • Essay on Ronald Reagan's Space Shuttle Challenger

    background information on the space program when he said “Nineteen years ago, almost to the day, we lost three astronauts on the ground. But we’ve never lost an astronaut in flight; we’ve never had a tragedy like this.” He stated this information to convey to the nation that these types of tragedies do not occur often in our space program. He wanted to ease their minds of the thought that this would be a recurring problem. He strengthened the people’s support even furthur for the space program by saying that

    Words: 1141 - Pages: 5
  • Columbia Space Shuttle Mission Simulation Paper

    in the Columbia incident. 2. How has NASA treated foam strikes historically? Why has NASA treated foam strikes in this manner? Damage from debris has occurred on almost every mission and it was very common for foam to fall off during the shuttles ascent into orbit. In the past NASA has treated foam strikes in two ways. In the foam strike history document, the Columbia STS-1 mission in April of 1981 had 300 tiles replaced after foam strike had occurred. When the fifth foam strike was recorded

    Words: 3044 - Pages: 13
  • Deep Space Exploration Essay

    Another way that NASA is making space travel more affordable is by not using rockets dedicated to a particular load. They are currently developing a new type of reusable rocket that can be configured for different payloads. This will help maximize the fuel costs. The Space Launch System, or SLS, will be designed to carry the Orion Multi-Purpose Crew Vehicle, as well as important cargo, equipment and science experiments to Earth's orbit and destinations beyond. Additionally, the SLS will serve as

    Words: 753 - Pages: 4
  • Essay Challenger Disaster

    Mcconnell reveals the fact that, the Marshall Space Flight centre was run like a federal kingdom and Dr.William Lucas - the centre director - was its supreme ruler.

  • The organization's culture at NASA was to" keep the schedule and the plan no matter what", their plan was to launch 60 space journey per year no matter any other thing, and this explain the decision that was made about the shuttle " To go no matter what", NASA decided to launch the shuttle although the problems of temperature and the

Words: 1768 - Pages: 8
  • A New Era of Space Exploration Essay

    Government funding along with other private funding are both crucial to the United States’ goal of exploring space beyond our moon. Many people were shocked to see the shuttle program come to an end. The program had been around for 30 years and sent many men to the Moon while on other missions as well. The reason behind ending the program that had done so much for America is because the cost of maintaining the outdated technology is too expensive. President Obama would also like to see NASA head

    Words: 1086 - Pages: 5
  • Space Exploration Essay

    the skin. This is another product of research conducted for space exploration. These are only two of many medical products and or technologies that have come from research developed for space exploration which has help to improve our lives. The funds spent on space exploration in this case has been a huge benefit not only to space exploration but the health and well being of the country as a whole. By the funds being spent on space exploration it was able to serve more than one purpose. It

    Words: 1441 - Pages: 6
  • The International Space Station Essay

    Many people agree with the idea of some sort of space laboratory, but wonder why it has to cost so many tax dollars. Some estimates for the station confirm that the cost has been underestimated by billions of dollars. Late last year Boeing beat out several other competitors for the prestigious position of main contractor. NASA agreed to sign a 5.6 billion dollar contract with Boeing to build many of the essential parts of the space station. Russia is also placing trust in this airplane superpower

    Words: 3096 - Pages: 13