The Importance Of The International Day Of Yoga

799 Words 4 Pages
The United Nation’s Organization, (UNO), decided to celebrate the International Day of Yoga on 21st June every year at the behest of Prime Minister NarendraModi. Now that Yoga has been recognized internationally as a tool to attain human values and wholesome lifestyle, more and more common people are joining to learn it. Quoting Sadhguru, who stated - “It is truly revolutionary for United Nations Organization to take up Yoga as a way of bringing transformation in the world. Because, without transforming the individual human beings, there is no way to transform the world. This is an enormous effort to take yoga to every human being on the planet is about fulfilling the human longing for health and well-being through a logically correct and …show more content…
Yoga is a Sanskrit word which means, addition or joining together, to balance our body in such a manner that all the muscles of our body are in our full control. Swami Vivekananda once said “There is no muscle in our body which cannot be controlled by us. However, we need the power of Yoga to attain this distinction.”
Patanjala Yoga Sutra has defined yoga as a control of the modification of mind. Yoga, in general terms, refers to the Hindu system of meditation and asceticism, aiming at a union of the devotee’s soul with the universal spirit. In other words, it means attaining the supreme state in life. Patanjali introduced “ashtang Yoga sutras proposing eight basic yoga types. These eight Yoga forms are as under:

1. Yama (Principles or moral code)
This Anga or limb is further classified into five parts: Ahimsa - A principle of non-violence, Satya - A principle of Truthfulness, Asteya - A principle of non-stealing, Brahmacharya - Continence / Celibacy, Aparigraha - A principle of non-hoarding or
…show more content…
3. Asana - (Yoga Postures / positions)
A stable and comfortable posture which helps attain mental equilibrium.

4. Pranayama - (Yoga Breathing)
Pranayaama is based upon the control on inhaling and exhaling. This is better known as the extension and control of breath.

5.Pratyahara - (Withdrawal of Senses)
A mental preparation to increase the power of mind, which can be achieved through the full control over your body and mind.

6.Dharana - (Concentration on Object)
Concentration of mind on one object and its field, in order to stabilize our attention to our basic aim.

7.Dhyan - (Meditation)
With drawing mind from all external objects and focusing it on one point and meditating on it.

8. Samadhi - (Salvation)
This is the state of super bliss, joy and merging individual consciousness in to universal consciousness. This can also be understood as the Union between Jivatma and Paramatma. Union of Shiva and Shakti in Sahasrar Chakra (the top of the head).
Realizing the pure consciousness or Realization of God is the ultimate achievement of Human

Related Documents