The Five Love Languages Essay

1011 Words May 16th, 2012 5 Pages
Michele Hodgkiss
Mr. Humphrey
COMM 2 – Book Report
March 13, 2012
The Five Love Languages With the divorce rate at over fifty percent, what can be done to keep love alive? What is the secret to a happy marriage? These are questions that Gary Chapman explores and defines in The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate. If couples are to communicate effectively with each other they must learn the language with whom they want to communicate. This book explores the five emotional love languages and the way couples speak and understand emotional love. Specifically the emotional love language a husband or wife would consider as their primary “love language”. Couples may be expressing what they know is
…show more content…
These small little acts will help your mate to know they are number one in your life. If someone’s love language is “Receiving Gifts” this is an easy way to let your mate know you are thinking of them. It doesn’t have to be an expensive gift it can be flowers picked in the yard, a homemade card or make your husband’s favorite dessert. A gift is something that makes the receiver think, “He was thinking of me”. The gift symbolizes that you remembered them and are thinking of your mate, it is an expression of love. The last two love languages are “Act of Service” and “Physical Touch”. “Acts of Service”, would be doing things you know your spouse would like you to do. You want to express your love for her by doing things for her you know will help. This could be helping around the house with cleaning, repairing things that need some attention. Helping your husband with yard work or cleaning the car. Small acts of service speak loudly to the person who loves to have their mate with them helping them. It is expressing love in serving one another. The person’s whose love language is “Physical Touch” is a great way in a marriage to communicate emotional love. This person feels most love when their spouse makes a point to give a hug, kiss, holding their hand while out in public and of course sexual intimacy. For the individual who desires physical touch, with it, their emotional tank is filled, and they feel secure.

Related Documents