Erikson's Stages Of Development

885 Words 4 Pages
The Eight Erikson’s Stage of Development
Trust vs Mistrust is the first stage of development that mainly focuses on infants’ learning to develop a bond with their parents according to the types of caregiving ability that the baby receives from birth to 12 months old. A consistent and reliable care will create trust between the parents and the infant but if the child receives harsh and a threatening feeling, it eventually leads to the development of fear and mistrust.
Autonomy vs Shame/Doubt development occurs between the age of 18 months to 3 years where a virtue of will develops as the child learns to discover their ability to do skills such as playing with toys and making choices of what to eat,
…show more content…
The child learns to socialize with peers and develop self-esteem with the virtue of competence where he or she comply to demonstrate specific skills and if a restriction is constructed by adults, the child feels inferior and starts to doubt personal abilities and potentials.
Identity vs Role Confusion is the adolescences stage of development from 12 to 18 years where the child learns to see and act like adults in some areas such as exploring personal values, goals in careers, relationships and trying to fit in to society. Puberty occurs in this stage that reflects the image of a child turning into an adult which defines the virtue of fidelity and failure to establish the need to identify self-capabilities will lead to role confusion or identity crisis.
Intimacy vs Isolation occurs between the ages of 18 to 40 years where the adulthood periods commitments to relationships with someone that defines the virtue of love. Failure to develop intimacy and having to fear relationship commitments effectually leads to isolation and
…show more content…
Retired old people that feel dissatisfied with their accomplishments often have desperation and guilty.
Personal Encounters
From my personal encounter with the different stages of development, it can be clearly clarified that the first four stages of development from infants to adolescences is very important as it will determine the remaining four stages. The developing stage of having the ability to trust or not to trust, autonomy or shame, initiative or guilt and industry or inferiority will determine the social behavior of that child to see, develop and control his or her capabilities independently.
Strengths and Neglected Outcomes Stages
A well-looked after child will have most part of their lives becoming successful and are satisfied with their accomplishment when they reach the late adulthood stage which shows their strengths and proves the vast wisdom content that he or she has gained from those developments. If one of the stages is not developed and neglected through proper care, there are high chances that the growing individual will be in fear and unskillful which leads to a stagnant unproductive

Related Documents