Summary Of Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children

1364 Words 6 Pages
Author Study TDA
The author, Ransom Riggs, of the amazing book series, Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children has had some stunning and notable accomplishments, such as: being a New York Times bestseller and has written 6 books, his first being Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children (the first in the book series). The two books I have been reading are the first two books in the Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children series. The first one, Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children is about a boy named Jacob, and his journey to finding out more out about his past and his grandfather and the other peculiar things he discovers along the way. The second book, Hollow City The Second Novel Of Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children focuses
…show more content…
This was the Jacob Portman before he discovered just how peculiar he was. In the first book of the series, Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children, he is deemed crazy and depressed. Jacob, luckily, was not the kind to give up too easily. He wanted to understand the last few words his dying grandfather muttered to him. His grandfather meant so much to Jacob, and this was true through both books. When Jacob finds his grandfather alone and injured, his grandfather mumbles a few words to him; “‘Go to the island, Yakob. Here it’s not safe’”. This starts Jacob’s whole quest to finding himself and understanding his grandfather’s life much further than he ever thought possible. In the second book, Hollow City, Jacob is battling himself internally. He’s unsure of himself; of who he is. He is tossing between doubt and assuredness. This is him coming to find himself more. On page 206-207, we learn about how Jacob is becoming better at controlling his peculiarity, which is evidence that he, not only on the inside but also on the outside, is finding out who he is. When he's using his peculiarity he discovers something new that he couldn’t do before. “My ability to direct it like a spotlight-this was new.” He is now more confident, more sure, and more comfortable with himself and his peculiarity. One thing is definitely clear, he has been through a lot and is now finally finding …show more content…
This has really helped to develop him as a person but also has helped to develop an overall theme of the books. Loyalty is another theme of the books. In the first book, one of the biggest themes was that “loyalty unites people.” In the first book, this is obviously shown when Jacob looks out for the other children and vice versa. Jacob is now realizing his loyalty to the peculiar children who “rescued” him in a sense and is understanding now that they’re like his family. In the second book, the theme is a bit different, though. Towards the end of the book, Jacob is faced with the decision of staying in the amazing, discovery-filled world of peculiardom or going back to his old life, where he is considered crazy and strange (which he is strange), but this is not an easy decision to make. This brings me to the theme that I thought stood out in the second book of the series, Hollow City, which centers around understanding, is, “the easiest decisions are not always the best decisions”. This can be interpreted many different ways, and I think that’s what the author’s intent was, to get the reader's thinking and wondering and coming up with ideas of their own. This is shown when, towards the end of the book, Jacob is told by Emma that he should leave, and an easy decision for him to make might not be the best decision for him to make. These two themes are very different, and that is because through the books

Related Documents