Reflection On Piaget Theory

702 Words 3 Pages
Mikayla Prettyman
Reflection 6
Piaget's Theory
In piaget's theory there are four stages of cognitive development that the brain goes through from birth to adulthood. The four stages are sensorimotor, preoperational, concrete operational, and formal operational.
The first stage sensorimotor is from birth to about the age of 2. Babies take in the world through their senses which is hearing, touching, mouthing, and grasping. Young babies live in the present “out of sight out of mind”. If you show a baby a toy then hide it, they forget all about that toy because they do not see it anymore. At 8 months, a child will momentarily look for the toy then forget about it. After another few months, the child will look for the toy even after being held
…show more content…
Preschoolers become to understand what makes a playmate angry, when a sibling will share, and what might make a parent buy a toy. They also begin to tease, empathize, and persuade. The ages 3 to 4 start to learn that others may hold false beliefs but children with autism spectrum disorder have difficulty understanding that another's state of mind differs from their own.
The third stage is concrete operational stage. Children enter this stage at about 7 to 11 years old. They understand that the change in form does not mean change in quantity they can mentally pour milk back and forth between glasses and know they are the same amount. At age 6 children can add 8 plus 4 after a few seconds they get 12.

They can also subtract 12 minus 8 after a few seconds they get 4. By the age of 8 they can do those problems instantly.
The fourth stage is the formal operational stage. By age 12 and up reasoning expands from the purely concrete to encompass abstract thinking. They can ponder hypothetical propositions and analyze consequences for instants they can use the “if this then that” statement. Full blown logic and reasoning awaits till

Related Documents