Know the Structure of Education from Early Years to Post Compulsory Education

1475 Words Nov 25th, 2011 6 Pages
Schools As Organisations

Know the structure of education from early years to post compulsory education

Task 1

An education provides people not only with the academic skills required, but also the social skills such as having the self confidence and belief in ones self to achieve a fulfilling and happy life. It is every child’s human right to receive such an education from early years to higher, and therefore several stages in which they must travel for this to happen.

Early Years Education

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is a structure in place for the learning and development of children from birth to five years old, for which all schools and early years providers must follow. The purpose of the EYFS is to allow
…show more content…
Children aged 5 to 7 years would attend years 1 and 2. This would cover key stage 1, with teachers’ assessments in English, Maths and Science.

Children aged 7 to 11 would attend years 3,4,5 and 6. This would cover key stage 2, but with subject testing in Maths, English and Science would be optional at this stage. testing in year 5 is optional.

Children aged 11 to 14 years would attend years 7,8 and 9. This would cover key stage 3, with the compulsory subjects being; English, Maths, Science, Design and Technology, ICT, History, Geography, Modern Foreign Language, Art and Design, Music, Citizenship and PE. Pupils would also receive careers education and guidance, religious education and sex and relationship education, all with on-going teachers’ assessments within the foundation subjects. Testing at this stage was withdrawn in 2008.

Children aged 14 to 16 (may will rise to 18) would attend years 10 and 11. This would cover key stage 4 where most children would sit their GCSE’S, however other vocational qualifications may be offered. The compulsory examination subjects at this stage are English, Maths, Science, ICT, PE and citizenship (not a compulsory examination subject). The compulsory study subjects, of which one must be offered from each of the four entitlement area’s are Arts, Design and Technology, Humanities and Modern foreign languages. GCSE’s can be taken at either the

Related Documents