Erikson 's Theory Of Social Development Essay examples

1747 Words Nov 2nd, 2016 7 Pages
Erikson’s Theory of Social Development Erik Erikson, a psychoanalyst, developed his theory of social development in 1950 (revised in 1963) (MacCoby, 2002). Erikson’s model includes eight distinct stages of psychosocial progression through a life span (Hutchinson, 2015). For instance, each phase has age specific tasks which allow them to develop emotionally and socially (MacCoby, 2002). Specifically, when a person meets the challenges of a stage they progress, but if they are unsuccessful, they may difficulty in the following stages (Hutchinson, 2015). ). Erikson’s theoretical model shows how humans grow, change, and adapt throughout a lifetime,
Erikson’s Stages
Stage 1: Basic Trust vs. Basic Mistrust Stage one is from infancy to one year old (Hutchinson, 2015). Infants who form a secure bond with their primary caregiver and have their needs met will develop trust in others (MacCoby, 2002). In contrast, infants who fail to have their needs met and do not bond with their caregiver will grow to mistrust those around them (Hutchinson, 2015).
Stage 2: Autonomy vs. Shame and Doubt
The Autonomy vs. Shame and Doubt stage includes toddlers, one to three years of age. In this phase, toddlers develop self-determination and an increase in motor skills (Hutchinson, 2015). Children at this age want to be self-reliant, so they resist help from others (Hutchinson, 2015). In particular, this stage is familiar with the “terrible twos”, where toddlers learn to be defiant and say, “No”.…

Related Documents