Essay about Erikson 's Stages Of Psychosocial Development

1037 Words Oct 20th, 2015 5 Pages
Erikson’s Stages of Psychosocial Development
Erikson’s stages of psychosocial development is a widely accepted psychological theory that describes the phases a human experiences as one ages. Erikson’s main focus of his theory describes the psychosocial aspect of development. His theory may be broken down into eight stages (see table 1) with three main focuses including, trusting in others, a sense of identity in society, and preparing a future for generations to come. The stages of the theory describe a social crisis experienced at different ages. Erikson’s theory does not only describe the stages, but it also describes how the stages effect a human’s life. In Erik Erikson’s | Psychosocial Stages | Simple Psychology, author Saul McLeod says “According to the theory, successful completion of each stage results in a healthy personality and the acquisition of basic virtues. Basic virtues are characteristic strengths which the ego can use to resolve subsequent crises. Failure to successfully complete a stage can result in a reduced ability to complete further stages and therefore a more unhealthy personality and sense of self. These stages, however, can be resolved successfully at a later time.” (McLeod).
Table 1
The eight stages of psychosocial development by stage, psychosocial crisis, basic virtue, and age. (McLeod)
The first stage of Erikson’s theory is when one starts to establish trust in others. The first stage occurs at the ages zero to about one and a half. The…

Related Documents