Essay on Erik Erikson 's Psychosocial Stages

1471 Words Nov 19th, 2015 6 Pages
Erik Erikson

Psychosocial stages:
Erikson remained very confident in his theories regarding the development of life. He felt that each stage needed to be achieved effectively in order to maintain a healthy impression of one 's self. Missing any one of these stages could result in an unhealthy person and an unrealistic perception of character. Although he ensured affirmation that if a delay in any of these stages occurred a person could still successfully complete the stage later on in life.
1.) Trust vs. Mistrust: Infancy (birth to 18 months)
During this stage an infant is defenseless, afraid and relies primarily on their caregivers for the essentials of life. The infant is uncertain of what the world around them is all about, they learn safety, stability and consistency of care from their caregivers. If the proper care bestowed upon the infant is predictable, reliable, consistent and loving they would develop trust. With this in mind, trust and security would incorporate over to all future relationships even when threatened. If the child does not experience, trust they will convert to insecurity and mistrust. Triumph in this stage leads to the Virtue of Hope.
2.) Autonomy vs. Shame: Toddler/Early childhood (18 months to 3 years)
In this stage the toddler is developing physically along with gaining individuality and increased mobility. Learning new skills and recognizing right from wrong starts building their self esteem. As the child develops the…

Related Documents