Summary Of Erickson's Eight Stages Of Social Development

1029 Words 5 Pages
Erickson’s eight stages of social development is a basic framework for describing the needs of people at different developmental stages ( Woolfolk, Winne & Perry, 2012). According to the theory at different stages in their lives, people are presented with a developmental crisis. The successful resolution of the crisis prepares people for the next. If a stage is not successfully completed it can have lasting effects on a persons life. It is important to note that if a stage is not successfully completed it can be resolved later on.
Trust Vs. Mistrust, Autonomy Vs. Shame & Doubt
The first two stages of Erikson’s theory occur before students are in school, but as Erickson proposed the unsuccessful completion of steps can inhibit peoples success later on. When students arrive in preschool they should be near or at the stage of initiate vs. guilt, however, if the pervious steps were not successfully completed students may struggle with this stage. As the teacher it would be important to take note of actions that may portray the failure of these pervious steps and begin working towards there completion before working on the next steps.
Initiate vs. Guilt
…show more content…
In my classroom to implement student directed learning I will gives students choice. I will present material and allow students to choose in what way the want to learn and present their understandings. This would give students the advantage of learning material in a way that suits their needs. Another advantage to student-directed learning is it would allow for students to be more engaged in their learning. If students are more engaged in their learning they will gain a deeper understanding of knowledge, since they will be learning through experience. The overall advantage I would experience as a teacher is that students would be able gain a better understanding of course material; therefore, I would be achieving my goals as a

Related Documents