Bach's Brandenburg Concerto No.5 Essay

656 Words 3 Pages
Bach’s Brandenburg Concerto no.5

This baroque concerto is composed by Johann Sebastian Bach, the famous baroque composer of his time. This work is the fifth of six concertos the composer dedicated to Christian Ludwig, Margrave of Brandenburg. This piece showcases Bach's inimitable strength as a contrapuntist. Bach’s music has flexibility in its form and influence, but still retaining the constraints of the form of baroque music. He blended Italian and German music in these concertos, giving them a distinctive touch. This fifth concerto is made distinctive by the flute, solo violin, harpsichord, and strings. It is the only one of the six pieces to have any solo given to the harpsichord, which is part of the continuo throughout
…show more content…
This movement is more like a dance, enchanting and cheerful with the influence of the fugue.

Analysis of the piece:
The three movements of fast-slow-fast are present.
In the opening movement, the ritornello is overwhelmed by the soloist which is usually the tutti ensemble. It is like a sort of competition between different parties, with the tutti versus soloists, and also soloists against soloists. The harpsichord wins. The first movement plays in the major key, with a sense of vivace. The overall dynamics which is ideal for describing this movement is allegro con fuoco.
A touch of legato is present in the second movement; adagio, largo can be used to describe the tempo of this particular movement.
The last movement is mostly polyphonic as it is influenced by distinct fugal powers. The subject is introduced and it is then repeated by another instrument. It sounded like a second voice imitating the first voice, accelerando at some point of time. It ended on a major chord. The overall tempo of the final movement is presto. The main instruments playing are the violin, flute and the harpsichord.
Rhythm is constant throughout this whole piece, this baroque concerto piece used the quadruple meter. Pitch and texture varies throughout the music piece as well.
Reflection of this piece:
The presence of strong contrast and opposition of sonorities made this piece remarkably wonderful. The second movement is slow and restful. This is a prodigious irony,

Related Documents