Essay on 5 stages of grief

899 Words Apr 12th, 2014 4 Pages
The 5 Stages Of Grief
Source:, The Kübler-Ross Model, By Elizabeth Kübler-Ross, On Death and Dying, 1969. The thesis of her article was that there are 5 stages a person goes through when dealing with some kind of loss or bereavement. Not everyone goes through each and every stage and neither does everyone go through a precise order . The five stages, denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance were never meant to help secrete messy emotions into neat packages.
Her article was based on her work with her terminally ill patients, seminars, interviews and also a lot of research. The overall pattern she took was from emotion to emotion. Referring to these emotions as stages. She explained
…show more content…
This is where people are at a state of shock and they go numb. They feel as if life is meaningless and they become overwhelmed. The author said Denial helps us survive and cope with the problem; it is nature’s way of letting in as much as we can handle. Once a person starts realizing and starts asking question, the healing process starts and all feelings that were denied start to emerge.
Anger: “Why me? It’s not fair”. Rage, envy and hostility. This is the second stage of the grieving process. This stage is necessary because the more a person feels angry, the more it disappears and the faster a person heals. Anger has no limits and it affects everyone around that person and underneath anger is pain. The author says anger is another indication of the intensity of one’s love.
Bargaining: “I’ll do anything”, Hope and negotiation. This is the third stage in a typical person’s grieving process. This is the stage where, after loss people bargain; a form of temporary truce. People get caught in a maze of “if only…” and “what if…” questions. Guilt is said to be bargaining’s companion, the questions people asks themselves usually causes them to see their faults in the whole situation. People remain in the past and try to negotiate themselves out of the pain they feel.
Depression: “I’m so sad, why bother with anything.” Disconnection and loneliness. This is the forth stage, this comes after bargaining, where a person moves to the present. Depression is a

Related Documents