Study your flashcards anywhere!

Download the official Cram app for free >

  • Shuffle
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Alphabetize
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Front First
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Both Sides
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Read
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off

How to study your flashcards.

Right/Left arrow keys: Navigate between flashcards.right arrow keyleft arrow key

Up/Down arrow keys: Flip the card between the front and back.down keyup key

H key: Show hint (3rd side).h key

A key: Read text to speech.a key


Play button


Play button




Click to flip

10 Cards in this Set

  • Front
  • Back
What doese the seventh commandment forbid?
Beside stealing, the seventh commandment forids cheating, unjust keeping of what belongs to others, unjust damage to the property of others, and the accepting of bribes by public officals.
What are we commanded by the eighth commandment?
By the eighth commandment we are commanded to speak the tuth in all things and espeacially what concerns the good name and honor of others.
When doese a person commit the sin of detraction?
A person commits the sin of detraction when whithout a good reason he makes knowns the hidden faults of another.
When doese a person commit the sin of calumny or slander?
A person commits the sin of calumny or slander when by lying he injures the good name of another
What does the tenth commandment forbid?
The tenth commandment forbids all desire to take or to keep unjustly what belongs to others, and also forbids envy at their success.
Whence has the Catholic Church the right to make laws?
The Catholic Church has the right to make laws from Jesus Christ, who said to the apostles, the first bishops of His Church: "Whatever you bind on earth shall be bound also in heaven."
What is a fast day?
A fast day is a day on which only one full meal is allowed, but in the morning and evening some food may be taken, the quantity and quality of which are determined by approved local custom.
What is a sacrament?
A sacrament is an outward sign instituted by Christ to give grace.
How many sacraments are there?
There are seven sacraments: Baptism, Confirmation, Holy Eucharist, Penance, Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders, and Matrimony.
Why are Baptism and Penance called sacraments of the dead?
Baptism and Penance are called sacraments of the dead because their chief purpose is to give the supernatural life of sanctifying grace to souls spiritually dead through sin.