Study your flashcards anywhere!

Download the official Cram app for free >

  • Shuffle
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Alphabetize
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Front First
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Both Sides
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Read
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off

How to study your flashcards.

Right/Left arrow keys: Navigate between flashcards.right arrow keyleft arrow key

Up/Down arrow keys: Flip the card between the front and back.down keyup key

H key: Show hint (3rd side).h key

A key: Read text to speech.a key


Play button


Play button




Click to flip

25 Cards in this Set

  • Front
  • Back
  • 3rd side (hint)
1901 "in recognition of the extraordinary services he has rendered by the discovery of the remarkable rays (or x-rays)"
Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen
1902 "in recognition of the extraordinary service they rendered by their researches into the influence of magnetism upon radiation phenomena".
Hendrik Antoon Lorentz and Pieter Zeeman
1903 "in recognition of the extraordinary services he has rendered by his discovery of spontaneous radioactivity"
Antoine Henri Becquerel
1903 "in recognition of the extraordinary services they have rendered by their joint researches on the radiation phenomena discovered by Professor Henri Becquerel"
Pierre and Marie Curie
1904 "for his investigations of the densities of the most important gases and for his discovery of argon in connection with these studies"
John William Strutt, 3rd Baron Rayleigh
1905 "for his work on cathode rays"
Philipp Eduard Anton von Lenard
1906 "in recognition of the great merits of his theoretical and experimental investigations on the conduction of electricity by gases"
Sir Joseph John Thomson
1907 "for his optical precision instruments and the spectroscopic and meteorological investigations carried out with their aid".
Albert Abraham Michelson
1908 "for his method of reproducing colours photographically based on the phenomenon of interference"
Gabriel Lippmann
1909 "in recognition of their contributions to the development of wireless telegraphy"
Guglielmo Marconi and Karl Ferdinand Braun
1910 "For his work on the equation of state for gases and liquids."
Johannes Diderik van der Waals
1911 "for his discoveries regarding the laws governing the radiation of heat."
Wilhelm Wien
1912 "For his invention of automatic regulators for use in conjunction with gas accumulators for illuminating lighthouses and buoys."
Nils Gustaf Dalén
1913 "For his investigations on the properties of matter at low temperatures which led, inter alia, to the production of liquid helium"
Heike Kamerlingh-Onnes
1914 "For his discovery of the diffraction of X-rays by crystals."
Max von Laue
1915 "For their services in the analysis of crystal structure by means of X-rays."
Sir William Henry Bragg and William Lawrence Bragg
1917 "For his discovery of the characteristic Röntgen radiation of the elements."
Charles Glover Barkla
1918 "In recognition of the services he rendered to the advancement of Physics by his discovery of energy quanta."
Max Planck
1919 "For his discovery of the Doppler effect in canal rays and the splitting of spectral lines in electric fields."
Johannes Stark
1920 "in recognition of the service he has rendered to precision measurements in Physics by his discovery of anomalies in nickel steel alloys"
Charles Edouard Guillaume
1921 "for his services to Theoretical Physics, and especially for his explanation of the photoelectric effect"
Albert Einstein
1922 "for his services in the investigation of the structure of atoms and of the radiation emanating from them"
Niels Henrik David Bohr
1923 "for his work on the elementary charge of electricity and on the photoelectric effect"
Robert Andrews Millikan
1924 "for his discoveries and research in the field of X-ray spectroscopy"
Karl Manne Georg Siegbahn
1925 "for their discovery of the laws governing the impact of an electron upon an atom"
James Franck and Gustav Ludwig Hertz