Study your flashcards anywhere!

Download the official Cram app for free >

  • Shuffle
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Alphabetize
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Front First
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Both Sides
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Read
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off

How to study your flashcards.

Right/Left arrow keys: Navigate between flashcards.right arrow keyleft arrow key

Up/Down arrow keys: Flip the card between the front and back.down keyup key

H key: Show hint (3rd side).h key

A key: Read text to speech.a key


Play button


Play button




Click to flip

8 Cards in this Set

  • Front
  • Back
Atkinson, Morten, Sue 1993
Racial/Cultural Identity Development Model
Stage 1 of the RCIDM
Conformity: Person has + attitudes toward and preference for the dominant culture and depreciating attitude towards one's own culture.
Stage 2 of the RCIDM
Dissonance: confusion and conflict over over the attitude one has toward self and others of the same and different groups. Person perceives their problems as related to identity issues
Stage 3 of the RCIDM
Resistance and Immersion: Actively reject the dominant culture and value own culture. Perceives personal problems as a result of oppresion.
Stage 4 of the RCIDM
Introspection: Uncertainty of the firmly held beliefs in stage 3 and conflict between loyalty to a group and autonomy.
Stage 5 of the RCIDM
Integrative Awareness: Experience a sense of self-fulfillment with regard to cultural identity. Adopt a multi-cultural perspective and value positive things from both cultures
Stages and therapist preference of the RCIDM
Stage 1: Txist from majority grp
Stage 2-3: Txist from own grp
Stage 4: Own grp. but open to another txist w/ similar world view
Stage 5:Any group as long as they hold similar values and views
Stages of the RCIDM
1) Conformity 2) Dissonance
3) Resistance and Immersion
4) Introspection
5) Integrative Awareness